Home | Sitemap | Kontakt | deutsch  | Impressum | KIT

Information Engineering and Management

Uni-Bibliothek
In front of the library

Information Engineering and Management Programme

What is Information Engineering and Management?

In our information society, the role of efficient processing and management of information is becoming increasingly important. Requirements on the job market change accordingly. The interface between Information Technology, Telecommunications, Consumer Electronics and Media Industry culminates to create completely new job descriptions.


This is where the interdisciplinary Information Engineerung and Management programme comes in: Introduced in the winter term 1997/98 as a diploma programme at the former University of Karlsruhe, it deals with the interdependency of technology and economy. It offers a solid academic grounding in key technical, economic and legal subjects. The relatively new programme also enables quick career entries for students. The combination of three specialist fields gives access to a broad spectrum of possible careers.


Information Engineers and Managers organise the efficient use of the asset information. They analyse and manage the information flow in companies and develop and assess complex information systems enabling efficient and effective user interaction.


Information Engineers and Managers work on an interdisciplinary basis. The main focus is on the economic management of information: students on the Information Engineering and Management programme learn to think in a cross-referencing way and view problems from various different perspectives. They implement methods, theories and tools from the fields of Information Technology, Economics and Law.

 

Information Engineering and Management at the KIT

In 2005/2006, the programme was restructured into a two-level system with Bachelor and Master degrees. About 80 first-semesters are admitted every year.


The course of studies consists of three well-established scientific disciplines: the two main courses Informatics (40 %) and Economics (40 %), plus Law (20 %). The combination of these specialist fields to form a university programme is unique in Germany.


The specific subjects offered on this programme come from the respective departments. Students are mentored by professors and employees of two departments. The Department of Economics is the largest centre for teaching Engineering & Business graduates with diplomas in the whole of Germany and the largest department at the KIT. The Department of Informatics is the oldest department of its kind in the country and the second largest department at the university. Both have an excellent reputation and are always ranked at the top of published league tables. The field of law is taught by professors and employees of the Centre for Applied Law (ZAR). The ZAR, spawned from the Institute for Law for this programme, is affiliated to the Department of Informatics.


At the beginning of their studies, students learn the fundamental concepts from all three fields of study, specifically in the fields of: Informatics, Business Administration, Economics, Mathematics, Operations Research, Statistics, private and public Law, as well as Information Engineering and Management. Based on this initial introduction, students then go on to specialise in particular diciplines for their vocational career. more


This course of study is very practically-oriented: Many guest lecturers from the worlds of the industry and commerce ensure that theoretical teaching remains close to the practical reality. An internship is obligatory for students taking the Information Engineering and Management course. Amongst other tasks, the Career Service of the Department of Economics supports students when looking for an internship, which can also be based abroad.


A detailed overview on the structure of the Information Engineering and Management programme can be found in the Module Handbook Bachelor in Information Engineering and Management and the Module Handbook Master in Information Engineering and Management.

 

A student's advice:

You can obtain further information from the following Module Handbook Master in Information Engineering and Management, interviews and articles (in German):

  • Interview with Prof. Dr. Ch. Weinhardt (from the Karlsruher Transfer, N°. 26)
  • Interview with Prof. Dr. A. Geyer-Schulz (from the Karlsruher Transfer, N°. 25)
  • Information Engineering and Management: Das Neue in der New Economy (What's new in the New Economy) by Dipl.-Wi.-Ing. St. Kotkamp (from the Karlsruher Transfer, N°. 24)
  • Das Internet ist kein rechtsfreier Raum (The internet is not immune from law)- An interview with Professor Dr. Thomas Dreier (from unikath 1/2001)
  • more articles can be found under Forum Informationswirtschaft (Forum Information Engineering and Management)

In the following table, you can find articles and regulations of the application process

 

Articles and Regulations of the Application Process:
Bachelor of Information Engineering and Management
Master of Information Engineering and Management
Selection Articles
Selection Articles

Study and Examination Regulations

Study and Examination Regulations

Home | Sitemap | Kontakt | english  | Impressum | KIT
Informatik mit Profil.
 
KIT on on iTunes U

Informationswirtschaft

Uni-Bibliothek
Vor der KIT-Bibliothek

Studiengang Informationswirtschaft

Was ist Informationswirtschaft?

In unserer Informationsgesellschaft spielen die effiziente Verarbeitung und Verwaltung von Informationen eine immer größere Rolle. Dies verändert auch die Anforderungen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt. Im Schnittbereich von Informationstechnik, Telekommunikation, Unterhaltungselektronik und Medienindustrie entstehen völlig neue Berufe.


Hier setzt der interdisziplinäre Studiengang Informationswirtschaft an: Im Wintersemester 1997/98 als Diplom-Studiengang an der Universität Karlsruhe (TH) eingeführt, behandelt der Studiengang die Wechselwirkungen von Technologie und Ökonomie. Er bietet eine fundierte Ausbildung, die sowohl technische, ökonomische wie auch rechtliche Grundlagen vermittelt. Der relativ neue Studiengang ermöglicht einen schnellen Einstieg in den Beruf. Die Kombination der drei Fachrichtungen eröffnet dabei ein breites Spektrum an Berufsfeldern.


Informationswirte organisieren die effiziente Nutzung des Wirtschaftsguts Information. Sie analysieren und steuern den Informationsfluss in Unternehmen und erstellen und bewerten komplexe Informationssysteme, die eine effiziente und effektive Benutzerinteraktion ermöglichen.


Informationswirte arbeiten interdisziplinär. Im Zentrum steht der wirtschaftliche Umgang mit Informationen: Studierende der Informationswirtschaft lernen, über Grenzen hinweg zu denken und Probleme aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln zu betrachten. Sie setzen informationstechnische, ökonomische wie auch juristische Methoden, Theorien und Werkzeuge ein.

 

Informationswirtschaft am KIT

2005/06 wurde der Studiengang in ein zweistufiges System mit Bachelor-/ Masterabschlüssen umstrukturiert. Jährlich werden etwa 80 Studienanfänger zugelassen.


Der Studiengang setzt sich aus drei etablierten Wissenschaftsdisziplinen zusammen: Die beiden Hauptfächer Informatik (40%) und Wirtschaftswissenschaft (40%) werden durch die Rechtswissenschaft (20%) ergänzt. Die Kombination dieser Fachgebiete ist in Deutschland als universitärer Studiengang bislang einzigartig.


Die angebotenen Veranstaltungen des Studiengangs stammen aus den jeweiligen Fachbereichen. Die Studierenden werden von Professoren und Mitarbeitern zweier Fakultäten betreut. Die Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften ist die größte Ausbildungsstätte für Diplom-Wirtschaftsingenieure in Deutschland und die größte Fakultät an der Uni Karlsruhe. Die Fakultät für Informatik ist die älteste Informatik-Fakultät Deutschlands und die zweitgrößte Fakultät der Universität. Beide haben einen hervorragenden Ruf und werden in Rankings immer auf den obersten Plätzen platziert. Der Bereich der Rechtswissenschaft wird von Professoren und Mitarbeitern des Zentrums für angewandte Rechtswissenschaften (ZAR) betreut. Das ZAR, das eigens für diesen Studiengang aus dem rechtswissenschaftlichen Instituts hervorging, ist der Fakultät für Informatik zugeordnet.


Zu Beginn des Studiums werden grundlegende Konzepte aus den drei Fachbereichen vermittelt: Die Studieninhalte umfassen die Fächer Informatik, Betriebswirtschaftslehre, Volkswirtschaftslehre, Mathematik, Operations Research, Statistik, privates und öffentliches Recht sowie Informationswirtschaft. Darauf aufbauend wählen Studierende Vertiefungsgebiete, um sich für ihre berufliche Laufbahn zu spezialisieren. mehr


Das Studium garantiert einen hohen Praxisbezug: Zahlreiche Gastdozenten aus der Wirtschaft sichern eine praxisnahe Ausbildung. Ein Betriebspraktikum ist im Studiengang Informationswirtschaft Pflicht. Der Career Service der Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften ist unter anderem bei der Suche nach einem Praktikumsplatz behilflich. Das Praktikum kann auch im Ausland absolviert werden.


Einen detaillierten Überblick über den Aufbau des Informationswirtschaftsstudiums bietet das Modulhandbuch Informationswirtschaft Bachelor sowie das Modulhandbuch Informationswirtschaft Master.

 

Der Studi rät:

Weitere Einblicke in das Studium der Informationswirtschaft erhältst Du in folgenden Interviews und Artikeln.

  • Interview mit Prof. Dr. Ch. Weinhardt (aus Karlsruher Transfer, N°. 26)
  • Interview mit Prof. Dr. A. Geyer-Schulz (aus Karlsruher Transfer, N°. 25)
  • Informationswirtschaft: Das Neue in der New Economy von Dipl.-Wi.-Ing. St. Kotkamp (aus Karlsruher Transfer, N°. 24)
  • Das Internet ist kein rechtsfreier Raum - Interview mit Professor Dr. Thomas Dreier (aus unikath 1/2001)
  • weitere Presseartikel auch beim Forum Informationswirtschaft

In der folgenden Tabelle findest Du Satzungen und Ordnungen zur Bewerbung

 

Satzungen und Ordnungen zur Bewerbung:
Bachelor Informationswirtschaft  Master Informationswirtschaft
Auswahlsatzung  Auswahlsatzung

Studien- und Prüfungsordnung

Studien- und Prüfungsordnung