Home | Sitemap | Kontakt | deutsch  | Impressum | KIT

The Department from A to Z

ATIS

This is the name of the technical infrastructure service at the Department of Informatics that provides a computer pool, printers, laptop access and much more in the basement of building 50.34. All students of the department can use these facilities free of charge. More information can be found here.

 

Studying Abroad

Partnerships with other universities based in Germany and abroad ensure that students can spend part of their course of studies at other universities. Qualifications gained there can be officially recognized.

 

Spectrum

The Department of Informatics in Karlsruhe offers an outstanding spectrum of academic disciplines: From Computer Technology and Telematics through to the application of Informatics in other fields.

 

Mentoring

The German Excellence Initiative has allowed the Department of Informatics to improve its mentoring relations still further. Thanks to your assistance, we have been able to appoint new professors and found new departments, such as the Institute of Anthropomatics.

 

Evaluation

At KIT, detailled evaluations of all courses are carried out every semester.  The students are asked to assess specific criteria such as the course structure, the amount of work or the engagement and motivation of the lecturer. The informatics students at KIT seem to be very pleased with the quality of the courses, since no course has been evaluated worse than „good“ during the last couple of years.

 

WLAN for the Entire Department

Thanks to WLAN, the Internet can be accessed from all department premises.

 

Department Library and Professsorship-related Libraries

Situated in the basement of the main Informatics building, the department library contains around 53,000 books and more than 200 current journals, as well as offering various WLAN work-stations.
In addition to the university and department libraries, several professorships also have their own libraries. These offer specific, topic-related books that would otherwise be difficult to access for students.

 

Friends of the Department of Informatics

The Friends of the Department of Informatics (FFI) association organizes the exchange of information and experiences between students, graduates and companies.

 

Close Affiliation to the Industry

FZI - The Research Centre for Information Technology was founded by the federal state of Baden-Wurttemberg and the KIT. It is designed to apply the latest scientific research results in companies and public institutions. The individual sub-departments of the department mentor several projects within the industry. This enables students to gain valuable insights into the work of Informatics scientists.

 

Information Engineering and Management

The Information Engineering and Management Programme, which is currently unique as a degree course in Germany, consolidates the skills of two separate departments (Informatics and Economics) and compliments this with a Law module. 

 

Integration of Acadamics and Research

With a view to ensuring the greatest possible practical relevance, all institutes and bodies affiliated to the department give students the opportunity to write Bachelor and Master theses within the framework of their specific fields of research. Research assistance jobs available to students at various institutions mean that longer-term insights into specific research fields can be gained.

 

Orientation Phase

The O-Phase – orientation phase – is an event organised by student representatives of the various university departments. This programme gives first-semesters the overview they need to begin their studies as well as helping them become familiar with the university and the city of Karlsruhe, and letting them get to know each other. The O-Phase takes place every year, about one week before the start of lectures in the winter term.

 

More information: Study Representatives Mathematics/Informatics or O-Phase

 

Practical Relevance

With approx. 45 research groups, the department lays the foundation for an exceptionally broad range of research activities in the field of Informatics. Many groups participate in major interdisciplinary research projects and specialist research fields. Projects funded by third parties even give students the opportunity to gain practical experience. (Projects funded by third parties are research and development initiatives carried out by members of the university within the framework of their professional responsibilities. They are not funded through the university's budget but rather by third-party finances.)
The department cooperates with the Friends of the Department of Informatics (FFI) association to offer students the so-called Job talk designed to give them initial insights into the daily work of Informatics scientists that is set to become their future professional career. In addition, more than 30 companies have been founded so far from within the department.

 

Computer Pools

The computer pools in the university's computer centre are equipped differently. With the exception of two pools on the second floor, they are all located in the basement of the building 20.21 SCC- Steinbuch Centre for Computing. Students can use the computers free of charge. Located in the foyer of the first floor, you can seek assistance from the Consultancy and Information Team BIT8000.
In addition, the individual professorships of the Department of Informatics are equipped with their own computer pools available to students working on specific projects and seminars.

 

Reputation

The Department of Informatics already has been high up the table of various university rankings for many years now and benefits from its outstanding reputation within the industry. It has developed into one of the largest departments at the KIT and one of the most influential departments for Informatics in the whole of Germany. Due to its outstanding research activities, the department has grown into an important source for young professional scientists in the field of Informatics.
The relatively new Information Engineering and Management programme has also made its mark with an excellent ranking in the CHE league table published by  the newspaper "Die Zeit" and the Centre for University Development, as well as in the ranking by the journal "Wirtschaftswoche". Read more

 

 

Studying for School Pupils

The School Pupil Programme offers older pupils in the upper grades the opportunity to gain insights into studying Informatics, also saving them precious study time at the same time.
They are even allowed to take regular examinations that can be officially recognized in their later studies. Read more

 

Tradition

Our department is the oldest department of informatics in Germany and looks back on a successful tradition established in research and academics: Since 1972, the department can testify to around 5,000 graduates and more than 700 doctorates. By 2007, 39 researchers had achieved their postdoctoral lecture qualification.

 

Subject Variety

Students of Informatics at the KIT can choose their minor course from a wide range of different subject fields. Although the focus here is on natural and engineering sciences, courses in humanistic and social sciences, such as Sociology, can also be selected.

 

Central Location

The Department of Informatics is located on the main campus. This means that different courses, the canteen or library are always just a short walk away.

Home | Sitemap | Kontakt | english  | Impressum | KIT
Informatik mit Profil.
 
KIT on on iTunes U

Die Fakultät von A - Z

ATIS

Die Abteilung für Technische Infrastruktur der Fakultät für Informatik, stellt einen Rechnerpool, Drucker, Laptopzugänge etc. im Untergeschoss des Gebäudes 50.34 zur Verfügung. Für alle Studierenden der Fakultät für Informatik ist die Nutzung kostenlos. Weiteres hier.

 

Auslandsaufenthalt

Ein Teil des Studiums kann durch die Kooperation mit anderen Universitäten im In- und Ausland absolviert werden, dort erbrachte Studienleistungen werden anerkannt.

 

Bandbreite

Die Karlsruher Fakultät für Informatik bietet eine herausragende Bandbreite in der Lehre: Von Rechnertechnologie, über Telematik bis hin zu Anwendungen der Informatik in fachfremden Gebieten.

 

Betreuung 

Die Fakultät für Informatik konnte dank der Exzellenzinitiative die Betreuungsrelation weiter verbessern. Mit ihrer Hilfe wurden neue Professuren berufen und neue Institute gegründet, wie z. B. das Institut für Anthropomatik.

 

Evaluation 

Jedes Semester führt das KIT eine Evaluation aller Lehrveranstaltungen durch. Dabei bewerten die Studierenden die besuchten Veranstaltungen u.a. nach ihrer Struktur, dem notwendigen Arbeitsaufwand sowie dem Engagement und der Motivation der Dozenten. Informatiker/innen am KIT können zufrieden sein, denn an der Fakultät für Informatik wurde in den letzten Jahren keine Veranstaltung schlechter als "gut" bewertet.

 

Fakultätsweites WLAN

Über WLAN lässt sich an allen Fakultätsstandorten auf das Internet zuzugreifen.

 

Fakultätsbibliothek und Lehrstuhl-Bibliotheken

Im Erdgeschoss des Informatik Hauptgebäude beherbergt die Fakultätsbibliothek rund 53.000 Bücher und mehr als 200 laufende Zeitschriften. Dazu bietet die Bibliothek zahlreiche Arbeitsplätze mit WLAN.
Zusätzlich zu der KIT- und Informatikbibliothek gibt es an einigen Lehrstühlen eigene Bibliotheken. Diese bieten spezielle, themengebundene Bücher, welche für Studenten nur schwer zu beschaffen wären.

 

Freundeskreis der Fakultät für Informatik

Der Freundeskreis der Fakultät für Informatik (FFI) organisiert  Informations- und Erfahrungsaustausch zwischen Studierenden, Absolventen und Unternehmen.

 

Industrienähe

FZI - Das Forschungszentrum Informatik (FZI) wurde vom Land Baden-Württemberg und der Universität Karlsruhe (TH) gegründet. Seine Aufgabe ist es, neueste wissenschaftliche Forschung in Unternehmen und öffentlichen Einrichtungen anzuwenden. Die einzelnen Institute der Fakultät betreuen zahlreiche Projekte der Industrie. Für Studierende ergeben sich so wertvolle Einblicke in die Arbeit eines Informatikers.

 

Informationswirtschaft

Der in Deutschland bislang einmalige Studiengang Informationswirtschaft vereint die Kompetenzen zweier eigenständiger Fakultäten (Informatik und Wirtschaftswissenschaften) und ergänzt diese durch die Rechtswissenschaft.

 

Integration von Lehre und Forschung

Um einen möglichst hohen Praxisbezug zu gewährleisten, ermöglichen die Institute sowie alle mit der Fakultät verbundenen Einrichtungen, Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten im Rahmen ihrer Forschungsbereiche anzufertigen. Einen längerfristigen Einblick in ein bestimmtes Forschungsgebiet erhält man durch einen Studentischen-/Wissenschaftlichen-Hilfskraft-Job an den diversen Einrichtungen.

 

Orientierungsphase

Die O-Phase – Orientierungsphase – ist eine von den Fachschaftsmitgliedern der Universität organisierte Veranstaltung. Studienanfänger bekommen hier den nötigen Überblick über das Studium, die Uni und die Stadt und lernen sich kennen. Die O-Phase findet immer ca. eine Woche vor Vorlesungsbeginn des Wintersemesters statt.

Nähere Info: Fachschaft Mathematik/Informatik oder O-Phase

 

Praxisbezug

Mit ca. 45 Forschungsgruppen bietet die Fakultät die Grundlage für ungewöhnlich breit angelegte Forschungsaktivitäten in der Informatik. Viele Gruppen nehmen an großen interdisziplinären Forschungsprojekten und Sonderforschungsbereichen teil. Drittmittelprojekte bieten schon Studierenden die Möglichkeit des Praxisbezugs. (Bei Drittmittelprojekten handelt es sich um Forschungs- und Entwicklungsvorhaben, die von Mitgliedern der Hochschule im Rahmen ihrer dienstlichen Aufgaben durchgeführt und nicht aus dem Etat der Hochschule, sondern mit Beiträgen Dritter finanziert werden.)
Um Studierenden einen Einblick in das spätere Berufsleben als Informatiker zu gewähren, bietet die Fakultät gemeinsam mit dem Freundeskreis der Fakultät für Informatik (FFI) den so genannten Jobtalk an. Hier können Kontakte zu Unternehmen geknüpft werden. Über 30 Firmen wurden bisher aus der Fakultät heraus gegründet.

 

Rechnerpools

Die Rechnerpools im Rechenzentrum des KIT sind unterschiedlich ausgerüstet. Bis auf zwei Pools im ersten Stockwerk befinden sich alle im Untergeschoss des Gebäudes 20.21 SCC- Steinbuch Centre for Computing. Die Nutzung der Rechner ist für Studenten kostenlos. Im Foyer des Erdgeschosses befindet sich das Beratungs- und Informationsteam BIT8000.
Die einzelnen Lehrstühle der Fakultät für Informatik verfügen außerdem über eigene Rechnerpools, die von den Studenten im Rahmen von Projekten und Seminaren genutzt werden können.

 

Reputation

Die Fakultät für Informatik belegt schon seit Jahren den ersten Platz in diversen Hochschulrankings und genießt einen hervorragenden Ruf in der Wirtschaft. Sie hat sich zu einem der größten Fachbereiche des KIT und zu einer der bedeutendsten Informatik-Fakultäten Deutschlands entwickelt. Aufgrund ihrer hervorragenden Forschungsaktivitäten ist die Fakultät zu einer wichtigen Quelle für Nachwuchswissenschaftler in der Informatik geworden.
Auch der neuere Studiengang Informationswirtschaft erreicht einen exzellenten Platz sowohl im CHE-Ranking der Zeit und des Centrums für Hochschulentwicklung, als auch im Ranking der Zeitschrift Wirtschaftswoche. mehr

 

Schülerstudium


Das Schülerstudium bietet Schülerinnen und Schülern der Oberstufe die Möglichkeit, Einblicke in ein Informatikstudium zu gewinnen und gleichzeitig wertvolle Studienzeit zu sparen.
Während eines Schülerstudiums können reguläre Prüfungen abgelegt werden, die für ein späteres Studium angerechnet werden können. mehr

 

Tradition

Unsere Fakultät ist die älteste Informatikfakultät Deutschlands mit einer erfolgreichen Tradition in Forschung und Lehre: Seit 1972 verzeichnet die Fakultät rund 5.000 Absolventen und über 700 Promotionen. Bis zum Jahr 2007 habilitierten sich hier 39 Wissenschaftler.

 

Wahlvielfalt

Für ihr Ergänzungsfach haben  Informatik-Studierende des KIT viele Wahlmöglichkeiten. Obwohl im Ergänzungsbereich die natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Gebiete im Vordergrund stehen, können  auch geistes- und sozialwissenschaftliche Fächer, wie z. B. Soziologie, gewählt werden.

 

Zentrale Lage

Die Fakultät für Informatik ist auf dem Hauptcampus angesiedelt, das bedeutet: kurze Wege zwischen den verschiedenen Veranstaltungen oder der Mensa bzw. der Bibliothek.