Home | Sitemap | Kontakt | deutsch  | Impressum | KIT

Range

Algorithmics

Efficient algorithms and data structures are basic requirements for demanding computer applications in all areas of daily life.

The main goal of algorithm research at the Department of Informatics is a systematic development of efficient algorithms for convenient solutions, which at the same time provide theoretical performance guarantees in areas that used to show gaps between theory and practice. Here, the focus is, amongst other things, on graph algorithms, algorithmic geometry, and distributed and parallel algorithms.

Algorithm engineering is centered around a cycle consisting of designing, analysing, implementing, and experimentally assessing practicable algorithms driven by falsifiable hypotheses. Realistic models for machines and applications, as well as algorithm libraries and collections of real input instances, allow an additional coupling to applications.

 TOP

Embedded Systems

Embedded systems – which are usually invisible to the user – are used in many different fields and technical devices, for example in mobile phones or - general - in household and entertainment electronics devices.  In many cases, embedded systems are customised for a specific task.

At the Department of Informatics in Karlsruhe, scientists are working on the design, optimisation, and architectures of the next generation of embedded systems under special consideration of ubiquitous system properties.

They are researching low power design processes and low power management as well as Configurable Multi-Processor System-On-Chip (MPSoC) design processes and architectures, their application-learned instruction sets and on-chip networks.

TOP

Cognitive Systems

Research in the field of cognitive systems at the Department of Informatics in Karlsruhe is focused on human-centred technologies and applications based on biosignals, for example recording, recognizing, and interpreting language, as well as muscle and brain activity.

In the field 'Speech Recognition', Scientists are developing specialist processes and algorithms that allow for the fast and efficient porting of speech-processing systems to unseen domains and languages.

In addition, we are researching bio-signals of humans and their suitability for intuitive and efficient human-machine-interfaces. We are currently developing various interfaces and applications based on electromyographic, electroenzephalographic, and biomechanical signals.

TOP

Communication and Ubiquitous Systems

A superb example for trendsetting informatics research in Telematics is the department's work in the field of 'Mobile Communications.'

Information scientists combine the usage of different networks such as fixed or radio networks, different computer systems, and manifold software components to offer users efficient use of numerous services.

Many cooperating systems provide intelligent and personal assistence features, which can be integrated into basic commodities. These systems are interlinked, interact with their environment, and are connected to existing communication networks.

TOP

Cryptography

Research in the area 'Cryptography' is all about trustworthy computer applications that provide security in the use of increasingly complex informatics applications, IT systems, and infrastructures.

Its main task is the design of security protocols from an abstract description to a prototypical implementation. Research has to identify current and future threats, and integrate formal models and mathematical proofs into the complete design process.

Among the important research results of the European Institute for System Security, (E.I.S.S.) at the Department of Informatics are the first smartcard-based access protection to a computer network, or one of the first public key cryptography protocols with key management, and a very early implementation and use of a firewall. All of these technologies are now considered to be standard.

Recent results are the first formal security models that support a modular design while keeping in mind threats such as blackmailing or protocol aborts; the best special hardware design that exists to date for breaking the RSA procedure, and convenient suggestions, such as increasing the security of digital signatures with camera phones.

TOP

Logics and Formal Methods

In the research field of "Logics and Formal Methods", the focus is placed both on maintaining this comprehensive tradition that is based on mathematical logics, on developing logical methods and results further, and on applying this to current topics in informatics.

Current field of research include the formal specification and automatic verification of software.

TOP

 

Robotics

One of the main fields of research at the Department of Informatics in Karlsruhe is Robotics. Robotics is concerned with the mechanical modelling, regulation, and electronic control of robots with a view to using programming to create a controlled collaboration between the electronics and mechanics of robots.

Robotics as a scientific discipline not only includes sub-areas of Informatics (in particular of artifical intelligence) but also the fields of Electronical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering. Research groups at the Department of Informatics are involved in collaborative research centres of the German Research Foundation (DFG) and numerous industry-related research projects in particular in the areas of Factory Automation, Medical Technology and Humanoid Robotics.

TOP

Sensor-Actuator Networks

Distributed networks consisting of hundreds or thousands of miniature and automated sensor-actuator systems are set to revolutionise the monitoring and control of distributed phenomena.

Typical areas of application include the supervision of large geographical regions, smart buildings, microscopic sensors and actuators in and on the human body as well as sensors for monitoring devices and machines.

Due to the great number of systems, the required fault and disaster tolerance can even be achieved if the individual sensor-actuator systems only demonstrate a poor reliability and availabilty.

The scientific focus of the research field of 'Sensor-Actuator Networks' is based on the different challenges for the architecture of sensor-actuator networks, their efficient operation, and the collaborative development of systematic approaches and references models.

TOP

Software Engineering

The field of 'Software Engineering' as an engineering discipline comprises all topics regarding the systematic creation of large software systems and ranges from the design of architecture and development methods, tools and environments to processes ensuring the quality and efficiency of programming and modern methods of data maintenance.

The focus of the research field 'Software Design and Quality' is the close interaction between software architecture, software components, model-driven development and software quality. The central points are processes for the systematic prediction of qualities in software and performance and reliability based on software architecture modells.

TOP

Verification

The research group »Verification meets Algorithm« at the Institute for Theoretical Informatics deals with quality assurance processes (verification) for hard- and software including the related fundamental field of research (algorithmics).

One of the focuses is the ongoing development of basic logical decision-making processes (e.g. SAT Solving), which are applied at the core of many verification tools. Research topics in this field include the building of new algorithms for problems occuring during practical usage, their adjustment to suit modern hardware architectures (multi-core, grid) and the analysis of the inner structure of these problems.

Another area of focus is the utilization of verification methods for industrial problems (e.g. product configuration, software verification), in particular for the automotive industry.

TOP

Home | Sitemap | Kontakt | english  | Impressum | KIT

Spektrum

Algorithmik

Effiziente Algorithmen und Datenstrukturen sind Grundvoraussetzung für anspruchsvolle Computeranwendungen in allen Bereichen unseres täglichen Lebens.

Hauptziel der Algorithmenforschung an der Fakultät für Informatik ist die systematische Entwicklung effizienter Algorithmen für praktikable Lösungen, die gleichzeitig mit guten theoretischen Leistungsgarantien insbesondere in den Bereichen aufwarten können, wo sich in der Vergangenheit Lücken zwischen Theorie und Praxis aufgetan haben. Hier beschäftigt man sich u. a. mit den Bereichen Graphenalgorithmen, algorithmische Geometrie sowie verteilte und parallele und verteilte Algorithmen.

Im Mittelpunkt von Algorithm Engineering steht ein von falsifizierbaren Hypothesen getriebener Kreislauf aus Entwurf, Analyse, Implementierung, und experimenteller Bewertung von praktikablen Algorithmen. Realistische Modelle, für Maschinen und Anwendungen, sowie Algorithmenbibliotheken und Sammlungen realer Eingabeinstanzen erlauben eine zusätzliche Kopplung an Anwendungen.

 TOP

Eingebettete Systeme

Eingebettete Systeme verrichten – weitestgehend unsichtbar für den Benutzer – den Dienst in einer Vielzahl von Anwendungsbereichen und technischen Geräten, wie beispielsweise in Mobiltelefonen oder allgemein in Geräten der Haushalts- und Unterhaltungselektronik.
Oft werden eingebettete Systeme speziell an eine Aufgabe angepasst.

An der Fakultät für Informatik in Karlsruhe beschäftigen sich Wissenschaftler mit dem Entwurf, der Optimierung und den Architekturen der nächsten Generationen von eingebetteten Systemen unter besonderer Berücksichtigung ubiquitärer Systemeigenschaften.

Low Power Design-Verfahren und Low Power Management werden dabei ebenso erforscht wie Configurable Multi-Processor System-On-Chip (MPSoC) Entwurfsverfahren und Architekturen, deren anwendungsspezifische Instruktionssätze sowie On-Chip Netzwerke.

TOP

Kognitive Systeme

Im Mittelpunkt des Forschungschwerpunktes Kognitive Systeme an der Karlsruher Fakultät für Informatik stehen menschzentrierte Technologien und Anwendungen auf der Basis von Biosignalen, wie beispielsweise der Erfassung, Erkennung, und Interpretation von Sprache, Muskel- und Hirnaktivitäten.

Im Bereich Spracherkennung werden insbesondere Verfahren und Algorithmen entwickelt, die eine schnelle und effiziente Portierung von sprachverarbeitenden Systemen auf ungesehene Domänen und Sprachen erlauben.

Darüber hinaus werden Biosignale des Menschen und deren Eignung für intuitive und effiziente Mensch-Maschine Schnittstellen untersucht. Derzeit werden zahlreiche Schnittstellen und Anwendungen entwickelt, die auf elektromyographischen, elektroenzephalographischen und biomechanischen Signalen basieren.

TOP

Kommunikation und ubiquitäre Systeme

Beispiele für zukunftsweisende Informatikforschungen der Telematik sind die Arbeiten der Fakultät im Bereich der Mobilkommunikation.

Informatiker integrieren die Nutzung verschiedener Netze – wie Fest- oder Funknetze –, verschiedener Rechnersysteme und vielfältiger Softwarekomponenten, um den Anwendern eine effiziente Benutzung zahlreicher Dienste zu ermöglichen.

Intelligente, personenbezogene Assistenzfunktionen werden dabei von zahlreichen kooperierenden Systemen erbracht, die in alltäglichen Gebrauchsgegenständen untergebracht sein können. Diese Systeme sind miteinander vernetzt, interagieren mit ihrer Umwelt und sind außerdem an existierende Kommunikationsnetze angebunden.

TOP

Kryptographie

Um vertrauenswürdige Rechneranwendungen, welche Sicherheit in den zunehmend komplexer werdenden Informatikanwendungen, IT-Systemen und Infrastrukturen bieten, dreht sich die Forschung im Schwerpunkt Kryptographie.

Die wichtigste Aufgabe dabei ist der Entwurf von Sicherheitsprotokollen von der abstrakten Beschreibung bis hin zu einer prototypischen Realisierung. Es müssen aktuelle und zukünftige Bedrohungen identifiziert werden sowie formale Modelle und mathematische Beweise in den gesamten Entwurfsprozess eingebunden werden.

Wichtige Forschungsergebnisse des Europäischen Instituts für Systemssicherheit (E.I.S.S.) an der Fakultät für Informatik sind etwa der erste Chipkarten-basierte Zugangsschutz zu einem Rechnernetz oder eines der ersten Public-Key-Kryptographie-Protokolle mit Schlüsselmanagement sowie eine sehr frühe Implementierung und Nutzung eines Firewall-Rechners. All diese Techniken sind inzwischen Standard.

Ergebnisse der jüngsten Zeit sind die ersten formalen Sicherheitsmodelle, die einen modularen Entwurf unterstützen und Bedrohungen wie Erpressung oder Protokollabbruch berücksichtigen, der derzeit beste Entwurf einer Spezialhardware zum Brechen des RSA-Verfahrens sowie praktische Vorschläge, wie die Erhöhung der Sicherheit von digitalen Signaturen mit Kamerahandys.

TOP

Logik und Formale Methoden

Im Forschungsschwerpunkt Logik und Formale Methoden spielt sowohl die Pflege der reichhaltigen, auf die mathematische Logik zurückgehende Tradition dieses Gebiets eine wichtige Rolle als auch die Anwendung und Weiterentwicklung logischer Methoden und Resultate auf aktuelle Problemstellungen der Informatik.

Aktuelle Forschungsbereiche sind die formale Spezifikation und automatische Verifikation von Software.

TOP

 

Robotik

Zu den wichtigen Forschungsschwerpunkten der Karlsruher Informatik zählt die Robotik. Sie beschäftigt sich mit der mechanischen Modellierung, der Regelung und der elektronischen Steuerung von Robotern mit dem Ziel, durch Programmierung ein gesteuertes Zusammenarbeiten der Roboter-Elektronik und Roboter-Mechanik herzustellen.

Die Robotik als wissenschaftliche Disziplin umfasst neben Teilgebieten der Informatik (insbesondere der Künstlichen Intelligenz) auch Bereiche der Elektrotechnik und des Maschinenbaus. Vor allem in den Bereichen der Fabrikautomation, der Medizintechnik und der humanoiden Roboter beteiligen sich Forschungsgruppen der Fakultät für Informatik an DFG-Sonderforschungsbereichen und zahlreichen industrienahen Forschungsprojekten.

TOP

Sensor-Aktor-Netzwerke

Verteilte Netzwerke, bestehend aus hunderten, möglicherweise tausenden von miniaturisierten und autonomen Sensor-Aktor-Systemen werden die Beobachtung und Regelung verteilter Phänomene revolutionieren.

Typische Anwendungen sind die Beobachtung großer geographischer Gebiete, intelligente Gebäude, mikroskopisch kleine Sensoren und Aktoren im oder am menschlichen Körper und Sensoren zur Überwachung von Geräten und Maschinen.

Durch die große Anzahl von Systemen kann auch bei einer geringen Zuverlässigkeit und Verfügbarkeit der individuellen Sensor-Aktor-Systeme die notwendige Toleranz gegenüber Fehlern und Ausfällen erreicht werden.

Im Forschungsschwerpunkt Sensor-Aktor-Netzwerke stehen die unterschiedlichen Herausforderungen an die Architektur von Sensor-Aktor-Netzwerken, an deren effizienten Betrieb und die gemeinsame Entwicklung systematischer Vorgehens- und Referenzmodelle im wissenschaftlichen Fokus.

TOP

Softwaretechnik

Das Arbeitsfeld Software-Technik als Ingenieursdisziplin umfasst alle Themen in
Zusammenhang mit der systematischen Erstellung großer Softwaresysteme und
reicht von der Architekturgestaltung über Entwicklungsmethoden, -werkzeuge
und -umgebungen bis hin zu Verfahren für die Sicherung von Qualität und
Wirtschaftlichkeit der Programmierung und moderne Arten der Datenhaltung.

Die enge Verzahnung von Software-Architektur, Software-Komponenten,
Modellgetriebener Entwicklung und Software-Qualität ist Schwerpunkt des
Forschungsbereichs »Software-Entwurf und -Qualität«.
Im Mittelpunkt stehen insbesondere Verfahren zur systematischen Vorhersage
von Qualitätseigenschaften von Software wie Performanz und Zuverlässigkeit
auf der Basis von Software-Architekturmodellen.

TOP

Verifikation

Die Forschungsgruppe »Verifikation trifft Algorithmik« am Institut für Theoretische Informatik befasst sich mit Verfahren zur Qualitätssicherung (Verifkation) von Hard- und Software einschließlich der zugehörigen Grundlagenforschung (Algorithmik).

Ein Schwerpunkt ist dabei die Weiterentwicklung von grundlegenden logischen Entscheidungsverfahren (z. B. SAT-Solving), die im Kern vieler Verifikationstools Verwendung finden. Forschungsthemen sind in diesem Bereich u. a. die Konstruktion neuer Algorithmen für in der Praxis auftretende Probleme, deren Anpassung auf moderne Hardwarearchitekturen (Multi-Core, Grid) sowie die Analyse der inneren Struktur solcher Probleme.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die Nutzbarmachung von Verifikationsmethoden für industrielle Probleme (Produktkonfiguration, Software-Verifikation), insbesondere für die Automobilindustrie.

TOP