KIT Department of Informatics

"Willkommen im CSNET!"

  • author:

    Sebastian Schäfer

  • date: 08.07.2014

"Welcome to CSNET!"

Short history of the first German Internet E-Mail

On August 3, 1984 Professor Werner Zorn and his staff Michael Rotert received the first Internet Email in Germany. In it, Laura Breeden from the Massachussetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Boston welcomed the German scientists to CSNET, one of the forerunners of today's Internet. Germany was the second country outside the USA to be connected to the Internet.

The CSNET (Computer Science Network) founded by Prof. Larry Landweber was put into operation in the USA in 1981. It was intended to give colleges and universities free access to a communication network with which the institutions could exchange information. CSNET provided a solution to the problems of scientific institutions with the ARPANET (Advanced Research Projects Agency Network), which they could not dial into due to a lack of authentication and the actual benefit for military research.

The preparatory work for connecting Germany to CSNET was carried out by Professor Werner Zorn from the then University of Karlsruhe (TH), who proposed to the Federal Ministry of Education and Research as early as 1982 that the German Research Network (DFN) be connected to the American CSNET. Professor Zorn's idea and the subsequent implementation using Dave Farber's CSNET software from the University of Delaware resulted in the e-mail from Boston received in 1984. One of Professor Zorn's further successes is the connection of China to CSNET. Through the work of Professor Wang Yunfeng from Beijing, China was able to connect to the Internet via Germany for the first time in 1987. Until a functioning infrastructure for the People's Republic of China was established, all domains were administered on the computers of Professor Zorn.

 

Geschichte von Xlink

Development and connection of Xlink


In addition, Professor Zorn founded the service provider Xlink (eXtended Lokales Informatik Netzwerk) on 01.11.1989. Xlink was the first customer to supply the Baden-Württemberg university network BelWü with Internet. In 1990, BASF AG was the first commercial customer of XLink. After the spin-off from the University of Karlsruhe, sales increased to up to DM 45 million by 1998, before XLink was sold to KPNQwest in 1999/2000.

However, it is mainly the first Internet e-mail that remains in the public's memory. Karlsruhe's scientists paved the way for the triumphal procession and massive spread of e-mail 30 years ago, which is why the city of Karlsruhe is still called the Internet capital of Germany today.

Home | Sitemap | Kontakt | english  | Impressum | KIT
Informatik mit Profil.
 
KIT on on iTunes U

"Willkommen im CSNET!"

"Willkommen im CSNET!"
   

Kurze Geschichte der ersten deutschen Internet E-Mail

Am 3. August 1984 erreichte Professor Werner Zorn und seinen Mitarbeiter Michael Rotert die erste Internet E-Mail Deutschlands. In ihr begrüßt Laura Breeden vom Massachussetts Institute of Technologie (MIT) in Boston die deutschen Wissenschaftler im CSNET, einem der Vorläufer des heutigen Internets. Deutschland war das zweite Land außerhalb der USA, das mit dem Internet verbunden wurde.

Das von Prof. Larry Landweber gegründete CSNET (Computer Science Network) wurde 1981 in den USA in Betrieb genommen. Es sollte Hochschulen und Universitäten einen freien Zugriff auf ein Kommunikationsnetzwerk geben, mit dem sich die Einrichtungen gegenseitig austauschen konnten. Das CSNET stellte die Lösung der Probleme der wissenschaftlichen Institutionen mit dem ARPANET (Advanced Research Projects Agency Network) dar, auf das sie sich mangels Authentifizierungen und dem eigentlichen Nutzen für militärische Forschung nicht einwählen konnten.

Die Vorarbeit für die Anbindung Deutschlands an das CSNET leistete Professor Werner Zorn von der damaligen Universität Karlsruhe (TH), der bereits 1982 dem Bundesforschungsministerium vorschlug, das Deutsche Forschungsnetz (DFN) an das amerikanische CSNET anzuschließen. Professor Zorns Idee und die darauf folgende Durchführung unter Verwendung von Dave Farbers CSNET-Software von der Universität Delaware, resultierten in der 1984 empfangenen E-Mail aus Boston. Als einer der weiteren Erfolge Professor Zorns gilt die Anbindung Chinas an das CSNET. Durch die Arbeit von Professor Wang Yunfeng von Beijing aus konnte China erstmals 1987 über Deutschland eine Verbindung zum Internet herstellen. Bis eine funktionierende Infrastruktur für die Volksrepublik China erstellt war, wurden alle Domains auf den Rechnern von Professor Zorn verwaltet.

 

Geschichte von Xlink

Entwicklung und Verknüpfung von Xlink


Des Weiteren gründete Professor Zorn den Service-Provider Xlink (eXtended Lokales Informatik Netzwerk) am 01.11.1989. Xlink versorgte als ersten Kunden das baden-württembergische Hochschulnetz BelWü mit dem Internet. 1990 war die BASF AG der erste kommerzielle Kunde von XLink, nach der Ausgründung aus der Universität Karlsruhe ließ sich der Umsatz bis 1998 auf bis zu 45 Mio. DM steigern, bevor XLink in den Jahren 1999/2000 an die Firma KPNQwest verkauft wurde.

Im Gedächtnis der Allgemeinheit aber bleibt vor allem die erste Internet E-Mail haften. Die Karlsruher Wissenschaftler ebneten dem Siegeszug und der massiven Verbreitung des E-Mail-Wesens vor 30 Jahren den Weg, wodurch die Stadt Karlsruhe noch heute als Internethauptstadt Deutschlands bezeichnet wird.