Home | Sitemap | Kontakt | deutsch  | Impressum | KIT

ITI - Institute of Theoretical Informatics

The Institute of Theoretical Informatics deals with the theoretical fundamentals of informatics and their application to practical issues. Its wide range of subjects covers algorithmics, formal methods, cryptography, and security.

The institute, among other things, focuses on algorithmics and its applications, in particular on graph algorithms, algorithmic geometry, and parallel and distributed algorithms with special emphasis on algorithmic engineering methodology. The research subjects comprise theoretical and practical issues from different areas e.g., algorithm libraries for basic algorithms and data structures, network analysis and visualization, and algorithmic solving methods for traffic and energy system optimization problems.

Besides, ITI focuses on the development of algorithms and models for solving problems in the field of evolutionary bioinformatics. The relevant research subjects comprise classical sequence analysis, algorithms and software for reconstructions of phylogenetic trees, population genetics methods, and analyses of very large biological data sets on high- and highest-performance computers.

The algorithmics study groups participate in the DFG Research Training Group GRK-1194 ”Self-organizing Sensor-actuator Networks”, the DFG Priority Programs SPP-1307 ”Algorithm Engineering” and SPP-1736 ”Algorithms for Big Data”, and the Helmholtz Program “Storage and Cross-linked Infrastructures”.

Besides theoretical fundamental research e.g., in the fields of semantics of programming languages or development of suitable calculi, the area of formal methods comprises the development of formal-logic methods for

 

practice through integration with conventional software engineering methods and application of formal methods to improve the reliability of software in concrete areas of application.

The efficient and user-friendly specification, verification, and automatic analysis of software, both at the abstract design level and implementation level, is another important subject.

One of the focuses is on the verification of object-oriented software. The respective research activities, among other things, are part of the KeY project (www.key-project.org) which is aimed at the deductive verification of Java programs.

Software safety, correctness of microkernels, network protocols, numerical software, and choice methods are among the present fields of application.

Another ITI focus is on cryptography and security research. In 1988, a correspondent study group was founded as European Institute for System Security (EISS). Today, EISS participates in interdisciplinary research at the Competence Center for Applied IT Security Technology (KASTEL), carries out research transfer via Forschungszentrum Informatik (FZI), and takes part in the Helmholtz Program “Supercomputing and Big Data”.

All research activities are spanned by the central topic of “provable security guarantees”. These are formal proofs that systems within mathematical models cannot be attacked. Proofs of that kind provide traceable and reliable security guarantees and allow mathematical access where security is proved mathematically based on falsifiable assumptions.

ITI - Institute of Theoretical Informatics
Research Groups Contact
Application-oriented Formal Verification Prof. Dr. B. Beckert
Cryptographic processes Prof. Dr. D. Hofheinz
Cryptography and IT Security Prof. Dr. J. Müller-Quade
Algorithmics II Prof. Dr. P. Sanders
High Performance Computing in life sciences Prof. Dr. A. Stamatakis
Algorithmics I Prof. Dr. D. Wagner
Verifikation meets Algorithm Engineering Dr. C. Sinz

(Research Group)

    
Professors Emeriti  
Algorithmics II Prof. em. Dr. P. Deussen
ILKD Menzel Prof. em. Dr. W. Menzel
Cryptography and IT Security Prof. em. Dr. R. Vollmar
    
Retired Professors  
Cryptography und IT Security Prof. Dr. J. Calmet
Logic und Formal Methods Prof. Dr. P. Schmitt

Home | Sitemap | Kontakt | english | Impressum | KIT

ITI - Institut für Theoretische Informatik

Das Institut befasst sich mit den theoretischen Grundlagen der Informatik und deren Anwendung auf praktische Fragestellungen. Das Themenspektrum reicht von der Algorithmik über Formale Methoden bis hin zu Kryptographie und Sicherheit.

Ein Schwerpunkt des Instituts liegt auf der »Algorithmik« und deren Anwendung, insbesondere Graphenalgorithmen, algorithmische Geometrie sowie parallele und verteilte Algorithmen. Eine besondere Betonung liegt auf der Methodik des »Algorithm Engineering«. Die bearbeiteten Forschungsthemen umfassen theoretische wie praktische Fragestellungen aus verschiedenen Gebieten, dazu gehören Algorithmenbibliotheken für grundlegende Algorithmen und Datenstrukturen, Netzwerkanalyse und -visualisierung sowie algorithmische Lösungsmethoden für Optimierungsprobleme im Verkehrsbereich und in Energiesystemen.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die Entwicklung von Algorithmen und Modellen für Probleme im Bereich der evolutionären Bioinformatik. Die Forschungsthemen umfassen die klassische Sequenzanalyse, Algorithmen & Software zur Stammbaumrekonstruktion, Methoden der Populationsgenetik und die Analyse sehr großer biologischer Daten auf Hoch- und Höchstleistungsrechnern.

Die Arbeitsgruppen für Algorithmik sind am DFG-Graduiertenkolleg GRK-1194 »Selbstorganisierende Sensor-Aktor-Netzwerke«,  an den DFG-Schwerpunktprogrammen SPP-1307 »Algorithm Engineering« und
SPP-1736 »Algorithms for Big Data« und am Helmholtz-Programm »Speicher und vernetzte Infrastrukturen« beteiligt.

Der Bereich »Formale Methoden« umfasst neben theoretischer Grundlagenforschung, wie im Bereich der Semantik von Programmiersprachen oder bei der Entwicklung geeigneter Kalküle, auch die Erschließung formal-logischer Methoden für die Praxis durch ihre Integration mit konventionellen Methoden des Software Engineering und die Anwendung formaler Methoden zur Verbesserung der Zuverlässigkeit von Software in konkreten Anwendungsbereichen.
  Wesentliches Thema ist die effiziente und benutzerfreundliche Spezifikation, Verifikation und automatische Analyse von Software. Dabei wird sowohl die abstrakte Designebene als auch die Implementierungsebene betrachtet.

Ein Fokus liegt auf der Verifikation objektorientierter Software. Diese Forschungsaktivitäten finden u.a. als Teil des KeY-Projektes
(www.key-project.org) statt, welches die deduktive Verifikation von Java-Programmen zum Ziel hat.

Aktuelle Anwendungsgebiete sind u.a. Software-Sicherheit, die Korrektheit von Mikrokernen, Netzwerkprotokolle, numerische Software
und Wahlverfahren.

Ein Schwerpunkt der Arbeit liegt auf »Kryptographie und Sicherheitsforschung«. Als Europäisches Institut für Systemsicherheit (EISS) wurde diese Arbeitsgruppe 1988 gegründet. Heute ist sie beteiligt an der interdisziplinären Forschung im Kompetenzzentrum für angewandte Sicherheitstechnologie (KASTEL), betreibt Forschungstransfer über das Forschungszentrum Informatik (FZI) und ist beteiligt an dem Helmholtz-Programm »Supercomputing and Big Data«.

Ein zentrales Thema, das die Forschungsarbeiten überspannt, sind beweisbare Sicherheitsgarantien. Hiermit sind formale Beweise dafür gemeint, dass in einem System innerhalb eines mathematischen Modells keine Angriffe möglich sind. Dies liefert nachvollziehbare und belastbare Sicherheitsgarantien und erlaubt einen mathematischen Zugang, bei dem Sicherheit basierend auf falsifizierbaren Annahmen mathematisch nachgewiesen wird.
ITI - Institut für Theoretische Informatik
Forschungsgruppen Kontakt
Anwendungsorientierte Formale Verifikation Prof. Dr. B. Beckert
Verfahren der Kryptographie Prof. Dr. D. Hofheinz
Kryptographie und Sicherheit Prof. Dr. J. Müller-Quade
Algorithmik II Prof. Dr. P. Sanders
High Performance Computing in den Lebenswissenschaften Prof. Dr. A. Stamatakis
Algorithmik I Prof. Dr. D. Wagner
Paralleles Rechnen Juniorprof.  Dr. H. Meyerhenke
Verifikation trifft Algorithmik Dr. C. Sinz

(Research Group)

    
Emeritierte Professoren  
Algorithmik II Prof. em. Dr. P. Deussen
ILKD Menzel Prof. em. Dr. W. Menzel
Kryptographie und Sicherheit Prof. em. Dr. R. Vollmar
    
Professoren im Ruhestand  
Kryptographie und Sicherheit Prof. Dr. J. Calmet
Logik und Formale Methoden Prof. Dr. P. Schmitt