Informatics M.Sc.

The most important facts at a glance

academic degreeMaster of Science, M.Sc.
Restriction of admissionyes
RequirementsA passed Bachelor's degree or at least equivalent Graduation in the Bachelor's degree in computer science or a degree programme with essentially the same Content at a university, university of applied sciences or university of cooperative education or Duale Hochschule or at a foreign university. (see selection statutes for details)
Start of studiesfor winter and summer semester
Standard period of study4 semesters
maximum study period7 semesters
Job descriptionsto the job descriptions
Master profile

The KIT Deparment of Informatics offers nine different profiles in the master program. Profiles are to be seen as a structuring of the master's program and do not require additional effort. If you attend the courses required by a profile, you will receive a certificate of special knowledge in addition to the certificate. A master study without profiles with self-chosen specializations is still possible and completely equivalent.

to the master profiles


Informatik 3 Anwendungssituationen

The Master's Program Informatics

The master's degree program Informatics at KIT follows on from the knowledge acquired in the course of a bachelor's degree program (computer science, business informatics, or similar). Students learn to work independently in a scientific manner and deepen their knowledge in individually selected areas. They develop the ability to apply scientific methods of computer science and to independently develop new procedures for solving problems of all kinds.
Computer scientists are in great demand on the job market. Numerous companies in the Karlsruhe TechnologyRegion also offer attractive prospects for the future. A doctorate following the master's program enables graduates to pursue an academic career in teaching and research.

The master's program Informatics is designed for four semesters. A special feature of the study program at KIT is the above-average freedom of choice. Thus, students have the opportunity to arrange their study plan according to their individual preferences and to choose from more than 150 courses per semester. An integral part of the curriculum is a scientific master thesis, which can be application-oriented as well as theoretically oriented.

Specialization subjects

Two specialization subjects must be chosen in the degree program.
The following subjects are available for selection:

  • Theoretische Grundlagen
  • Algorithmentechnik
  • Kryptographie und Sicherheit
  • Betriebssysteme
  • Parallelverarbeitung
  • Softwaretechnik und Übersetzerbau
  • Prozessautomatisierung
  • Entwurf eingebetteter Systeme und Rechnerarchitekturen
  • Telematik
  • Informationssysteme
  • Computergraphik & Geometrieverarbeitung
  • Anthropomatik und Kognitive Systeme


Elective subject

In the elective subject, any computer science modules can be selected from the wide range of courses offered by the KIT Faculty of Computer Science.

Supplementary subject

The supplementary subject offers insights into possible fields of application of computer science and thus provides orientation for the later professional life. Corresponding modules are offered by all faculties at KIT, such as electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, or economics and humanities.

Key and interdisciplinary qualifications

With the key and interdisciplinary qualifications, knowledge is acquired that is not directly related to the study of computer science, but is essential for later professional life. These include foreign languages, presentation techniques, social competence and the ability to work in a team.

Degree

The program concludes with a master's thesis and the academic degree "Master of Science" (M.Sc.).

Regulations, statutes and links to the Informatik Master

Selection Rules Selection Rules 2018
  Correction to Selection Rules 2019
Study and examination regulations SPO 2015
  1st Amendment to the Statutes SPO 2015
Module Manual SPO 2015
schematic overview plan SPO 2015
Links for the start of your studies Living and studying in Karlsruhe

Informatik M.Sc.

Das Wichtigste im Überblick

Akademischer Grad Master of Science, M.Sc.
Zulassungsbeschränkung ja
Voraussetzungen Ein bestandener Bachelorabschluss oder mindestens gleichwertiger Abschluss in dem Bachelorstudiengang Informatik oder einem Studiengang mit im Wesentlichen gleichem Inhalt an einer Universität, Fachhochschule oder Berufsakademie oder Dualen Hochschule oder an einer ausländischen Hochschule. (s. Auswahlsatzung für Details)
Studienbeginn zum Winter- und Sommersemester
Regelstudienzeit 4 Semester
maximale Studienzeit 7 Semester
Berufsbilder zu den Alumniporträts
Masterprofil

Die KIT-Fakultät für Informatik bietet neun verschiedene Profile im Masterstudium an. Profile sind als Strukturierung des Masterstudiums zu sehen und erfordern keinen Mehraufwand. Belegt man die von einem Profil geforderten Veranstaltungen, so erhält man zusätzlich zum Zeugnis ein Zertifikat über die besonderen Kenntnisse.Ein Masterstudium ohne Profile mit selbst gewählten Schwerpunkten ist weiterhin möglich und vollkommen gleichwertig.

zu den Masterprofilen

 

Informatik 4 Anwendungssituationen KIT-Fakultät für Informatik

Das Masterstudium Informatik

Der Masterstudiengang Informatik am KIT schließt an die Kenntnissen an, die im Rahmen eines Bachelorstudiums (Informatik, Wirtschaftsinformatik, o. ä.) erworben wurden. Die Studierenden lernen, selbständig wissenschaftlich zu arbeiten, und vertiefen ihr Wissen in individuell ausgewählten Gebieten. Sie bilden die Fähigkeit aus, wissenschaftliche Methoden der Informatik anzuwenden und selbständig neue Verfahren zur Lösung von Problemen aller Art zu entwickeln.
Informatikerinnen und Informatiker sind auf dem Arbeitsmarkt überaus begehrt. Auch direkt in der TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe bieten zahlreiche Unternehmen attraktive Zukunftsperspektiven. Durch eine an das Masterstudium anschließende Promotion werden Absolventinnen und Absolventen befähigt, eine wissenschaftliche Karriere in Lehre und Forschung einzuschlagen.

Der Master Informatik ist auf vier Semester angelegt. Besonderheit des Studiums am KIT ist die überdurchschnittlich hohe Wahlfreiheit. Für die Studierenden bietet sich so die Möglichkeit, sich ihren Studienplan den individuellen Neigungen entsprechend zusammen zu stellen und aus mehr als 150 Lehrveranstaltungen pro Semester zu wählen. Integraler Bestandteil des Curriculums ist eine wissenschaftliche Masterarbeit, die sowohl anwendungsorientiert als auch theoretisch ausgerichtet sein kann.

Vertiefungsfächer
Im Studium müssen zwei Vertiefungsfächer gewählt werden.
Folgende Fächer stehen zur Auswahl:

  • Theoretische Grundlagen
  • Algorithmentechnik
  • Kryptographie und Sicherheit
  • Betriebssysteme
  • Parallelverarbeitung
  • Softwaretechnik und Übersetzerbau
  • Prozessautomatisierung
  • Entwurf eingebetteter Systeme und Rechnerarchitekturen
  • Telematik
  • Informationssysteme
  • Computergraphik & Geometrieverarbeitung
  • Anthropomatik und Kognitive Systeme


Wahlfach
Im Wahlfach können beliebige Informatikmodule aus dem breit gefächerten Angebot der KIT-Fakultät für Informatik gewählt werden.

Ergänzungsfach
Das Ergänzungsfach bietet Einblicke in mögliche Anwendungsgebiete der Informatik und schafft damit Orientierung für das spätere Berufsleben. Entsprechende Module werden von allen Fakultäten am KIT angeboten, wie z. B. in der Elektrotechnik, im Maschinenbau oder in den Wirtschafts- und Geisteswissenschaften.

Schlüssel- und überfachliche Qualifikationen
Mit den Schlüssel- und überfachlichen Qualifikationen werden Kenntnisse erworben, die nicht in direktem Zusammenhang mit einem Informatikstudium stehen, aber für das spätere Berufsleben essentiell sind. Dazu zählen etwa Fremdsprachen, Präsentationstechniken, Sozialkompetenz und Teamfähigkeit.

Abschluss
Das Studium schließt mit einer Masterarbeit und dem akademischen Grad »Master of Science« (M.Sc.) ab.

Ordnungen, Satzungen und Links zum Informatik Master

Auswahlsatzung Auswahlsatzung 2018
  Berichtigung Auswahlsatzung 2019
Studien- und Prüfungsordnung SPO 2015
  1. Änderungssatzung SPO 2015
Modulhandbuch WS 2021/22
schematischer Übersichtsplan SPO 2015
Links für den Studienstart Leben und Studieren in Karlsruhe