Application

German citizens, EU citizens and educational residents apply via the application portal of the Business unit Studium und Lehre.

For applications from international, non-EU citizens, special regulations and other deadlines apply. Please contact the KIT International Students Office.

Apply now!                                              

Special features for admission

  • Admission to the 1st semester for all Bachelor's degree programs takes place only in winter term.
  • For the application for the Bachelor's program of Informatics, a certificate of participation in the KIT Informatics Self-Test for Study Orientation has to be submitted.
  • For the application for the Bachelor' program of Informatics Teachers Education, a certificate of attendance at the Teacher orientation test has to be submitted.
  • A second subject must be selected for the Teachers Education program in the Bachelor's degree. The subject with the earlier deadline is decisive for the application deadline!
  • Admission to higher semesters and to the Master's degree program, takes place in both the winter and summer terms.
  • In order to be admitted to the Master of Computer Science, applicants from outside KIT have to prove that they have achieved the required minimum amount of credits in the fields of Theoretical Computer Science (15 LP), Practical Computer Science (30 LP), Computer Engineering (8 LP), and Mathematics (25 LP). This will be checked by a selection committee on the basis of the application documents. If these requirements are not fulfilled, applicants can still be admitted by succesfully passing a selection interview. In order to participate in the selection interview, candidates must have achieved the required minimum amount of credits in three of the following four areas: Theoretical Computer Science (15 LP), Practical Computer Science (20 LP), Computer Engineering (6 LP), and Mathematics (20 LP).
  • Further information about the application procedure can be found on the website of the Studierendenservice.

Deadlines

Application deadlines

*A second subject must be chosen for the bachelor's degree in informatics teacher deducation. The subject with the earlier deadline is decisive for the application deadline!

Fees

An overview of the dues and fees can be found here.

Selection interviews for the Master's degree programm in Informatics


The admission requirement for the Master's program in Informatics may possibly include the successful participation in a selection interview, which will be held in German. Please note that sufficient knowledge of German is absolutely necessary!

The selection interviews for WS 2022/23 will take place on Wednesday, July 27, 2022, and Thursday, July 28, 2022, in the rooms of the Computer Science Study Program Service (ISS), Building 50.34, at KIT. The date and the exact time will be announced in the invitation.

All applicants who do not meet the admission requirements according to §5 (1) point 2. a) of the selection statutes of the KIT Master's Program in Informatics, but who have proven knowledge and performance in three of the four areas mentioned in §5 (2) point 2. b), will be invited by e-mail at least 2 days before the selection interviews. Applicants should make sure that e-mails regarding the selection process reach them and are not declared as SPAM. All those who are invited to an interview must confirm participation by registering via a link sent to them immediately after receipt of the invitation, but no later than 24 h after delivery.

The selection interview is evaluated with 0 to 60 points.

If the selection interview is evaluated with less than 30 points, the interview is considered as failed. The applicant may participate once in another interview, but not earlier than the next application period.

A renewed participation in a selection interview is excluded if the applicant does not appear without good cause, influences the interview by deception or use of unauthorized aids or disturbs the proper conduct of the interview.

KIT does not assume any costs incurred by the applicants as a result of participanting in the selection interview.

Bewerbung

Studienbewerberinnen und -bewerber mit deutscher Staatsangehörigkeit, aus dem Ausland mit deutscher Hochschulzugangsberechtigung (Bildungsinländer) oder aus EU-Staaten bewerben sich form- und fristgerecht über das Bewerbungsportal des Studierendenservice.

Für Bewerbungen aus dem Nicht-EU-Ausland gelten Sonderregelungen und in der Regel auch andere Fristen. Bitte wenden Sie sich an das International Students Office des KIT.
All foreign applicants: Please contact the International Students Office at the KIT.

Besonderheiten bei der Zulassung

  • Die Zulassung ins 1. Semester erfolgt für alle Fächer im Bachelor nur zum Wintersemester.
  • Für die Bewerbung um einen Studienplatz im Bachelor Informatik ist eine Teilnahmebescheinigung am KIT-Informatik Selbsttest zur Studienorientierung einzureichen.
  • Für die Bewerbung um einen Studienplatz im Bachelor Informatik Lehramt ist eine Teilnahmebescheinigung am Lehrerorientierungstest einzureichen.
  • Für den Lehramtsstudiengang im Bachelor muss ein zweites Fach gewählt werden. Für die fristgerechte Bewerbung ist das Fach mit der frühreren Frist maßgeblich!
  • In höheren Fachsemestern und für den Studienbeginn im Master erfolgt die Zulassung sowohl zum Winter- als auch zum Sommersemester.
  • Für die Zulassung zum Master Informatik sind für KIT-externe Bewerbungen notwendige Mindestleistungen in den Bereichen Theoretische Informatik (15 LP), Praktische Informatik (30 LP), Technische Informatik (8 LP) und Mathematik (25 LP) nachzuweisen. Dies wird im Auswahlverfahren anhand der Bewerbungsunterlagen von der zuständige Kommission überprüft. Sofern diese Bedingungen nicht erfüllt werden, können Bewerber und Bewerberinnen durch das Bestehen eines Auswahlgesprächs dennoch zugelassen werden. Um am Auswahlgespräch teilzunehmen, müssen in drei der folgenden vier Bereichen die Mindestleistungen nachgewiesen werden: Theoretische Informatik (15 LP), Praktische Informatik (20 LP), Technische Informatik (6 LP) und Mathematik (20 LP).
  • Nähere Auskünfte über das konkrete Bewerbungsverfahren erhalten Sie auf den Seiten des Studierendenservice

Fristen

Bewerbungsfristen

*Für den Lehramtsstudiengang im Bachelor muss ein zweites Fach gewählt werden. Für die fristgerechte Bewerbung ist das Fach mit der frühreren Frist maßgeblich!

Gebühren

Eine Übersicht der Beiträge und Gebühren finden Sie hier.

Auswahlgespräche für den Master Informatik


Die Zugangsvoraussetzung für den Masterstudiengang Informatik kann u.U. die erfolgreiche Teilnahme an einem Auswahlgespräch beinhalten, das auf Deutsch stattfindet. Bitte beachten Sie, dass ausreichende Deutschkenntnisse unbedingt erforderlich sind!
 

Die Auswahlgespräche für das SS 2022 finden am Montag, den 31. Januar 2022, und Dienstag, den 01. Februar 2022, wahlweise in den Räumen des Informatik Studiengangservice (ISS), Geb. 50.34, am KIT oder online via Zoom statt. Der Termin und die genaue Uhrzeit werden in der Einladung bekannt gegeben.

 

Eingeladen werden per E-Mail spätestens 2 Tage vor den Auswahlgesprächen alle Bewerberinnen und Bewerber, die die Zulassungsvoraussetzungen nach §5 (1) Punkt 2. a) der Auswahlsatzung des Masterstudiengangs Informatik am KIT nicht erfüllen, aber nachgewiesene Kenntnisse und Leistungen in drei der vier in  § 5 (2) Punkt 2. b) genannten Bereiche nicht unterschreiten. Bewerberinnen und Bewerber sollten sicherstellen, dass E-Mails zum Auswahlverfahren sie erreichen und nicht als SPAM deklariert werden.  Alle, die zu einem Gespräch eingeladen werden, müssen die Teilnahme durch die Anmeldung über einen ihnen zugesandten Link direkt nach Eingang der Einladung, spätestens aber 24 h nach Zustellung bestätigen.

Für Gespräche in Präsenz ist einer der folgenden Nachweise erforderlich:
- über eine vollständige Schutzimpfung gegen das Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 (seit letzter Impfung mind. 14 Tage vergangen)   
- über die Genesung nach einer Infektion mit dem Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 (die mind. 28 Tage und max. sechs Monate zurückliegt)

Die exakte gesetzliche Regelung entnehmen Sie bei Bedarf bitte den entsprechenden Verordnungen. Der Nachweis ist zum Gespräch vorzulegen.

 

Das Auswahlgespräch wird mit 0 bis 60 Punkten bewertet.

Wird das Auswahlgespräch mit weniger als 30 Punkten bewertet, gilt das Gespräch als nicht bestanden. Die oder der Bewerber*in kann einmal an einem weiteren Gespräch teilnehmen, frühestens jedoch im nächsten Bewerbungszeitraum.

Eine erneute Teilnahme an einem Auswahlgespräch ist ausgeschlossen, wenn die*der Bewerber*in ohne wichtigen Grund nicht erscheint, das Gespräch durch Täuschung oder Benutzung nicht zugelassener Hilfsmittel beeinflusst oder den ordnungsgemäßen Ablauf des Gesprächs stört.
 

Das KIT übernimmt keine Kosten, die durch das Auswahlgespräch für die Bewerberinnen und Bewerber entstehen.