KIT Department of Informatics

History

Geschichte der FakultätStadtmuseum Karlsruhe

At the Technical University of Karlsruhe (today's KIT), the development of computer science as a discipline began in the late 1950s. On the one hand, the Institute of Applied Mathematics was concerned with electronic calculators and programmed on the Zuse 22 computer under the supervision of Karl Nickel, while on the other hand, the Institute for Message Processing and Transmission under Karl Steinbuch promoted programming training on the ER 56 computer. The activities were coordinated at an early stage; both institutes made the computing power of their facilities available to the entire university, even before there was an institutionalized computer center from 1966.

At the beginning of 1969, the Institute of Computer Science was founded under the direction of Karl Nickel, which was initially located at the Faculty of Mathematics. The introduction of the diploma program in Computer Science was in the winter semester 1969/70. The expansion to the Faculty of Computer Science was inspired by the second data processing program of the Federal Government and the supra-regional research program in Computer Science (ÜRF) and so the Faculty of Computer Science was founded on October 1, 1972 as the first such unit for research and teaching with four institutes in Germany.

A lot has happened in the past decades since its foundation. Initially seen as a marginal development, computer science has now become a key technology of the 21st century. Computer science systems have penetrated our living environment and are the basis of countless devices and applications that make our everyday lives easier and that hardly anyone would want to do without. Today, the Faculty of Computer Science at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology is one of the most diverse and renowned computer science faculties in Germany, and computer scientists from Karlsruhe, with their research achievements, provide impulses for many achievements of the information society - then as now.

KIT-Fakultät für Informatik

Entwicklung und Meilensteine

Geschichte der FakultätStadtmuseum Karlsruhe

An der Technischen Hochschule Karlsruhe (dem heutigen KIT) begann die Entwicklung der Informatik als Disziplin Ende der 1950er-Jahre. Am Institut für Angewandte Mathematik einerseits beschäftigte man sich mit elektronischen Rechenautomaten und programmierte unter Anleitung von Karl Nickel am Rechner Zuse 22. Andererseits trieb das Institut für Nachrichtenverarbeitung und Nachrichtenübertragung unter Karl Steinbuch die Programmierausbildung am Rechner ER 56 voran. Die Aktivitäten verliefen schon früh koordiniert; beide Institute stellten die Rechenleistung ihrer Anlagen der gesamten Hochschule zur Verfügung, noch bevor es ab 1966 ein institutionalisiertes Rechenzentrum gab.

Zum Beginn des Jahres 1969 wurde das Institut für Informatik unter Leitung von Karl Nickel gegründet, das zunächst an der Fakultät für Mathematik angesiedelt war. Die Einführung des Diplomstudiengangs Informatik erfolgte zum Wintersemester 1969/70. Der Ausbau zur Fakultät für Informatik war beflügelt durch das zweite Datenverarbeitungsprogramm der Bundesregierung und das darin angesiedelte Überregionale Forschungsprogramm Informatik (ÜRF) und so wurde zum 01.10.1972 die Fakultät für Informatik als erste so bezeichnete Einheit für Forschung und Lehre mit vier Instituten in Deutschland gegründet.

In den vergangenen Jahrzehnten seit der Gründung ist viel passiert. Anfänglich als Randentwicklung angesehen, ist Informatik inzwischen zu einer Schlüsseltechnologie des 21. Jahrhunderts geworden. Informatiksysteme haben unsere Lebenswelt durchdrungen und sind Grundlage zahlloser Geräte und Anwendungen, die uns den Alltag erleichtern und die kaum einer missen möchte. Die Fakultät für Informatik am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie gehört heute zu den vielfältigsten und renommiertesten Informatik-Fakultäten in Deutschland und Karlsruher Informatikerinnen und Informatiker setzen mit ihren Forschungsleistungen Impulse für viele Errungenschaften der Informationsgesellschaft – damals wie heute.