KIT Department of Informatics

Topics

Topics

enlarge image

Computer science deals with the description, analysis, design, and operation of information processing systems. And these systems have meanwhile penetrated not only all sectors in business and industry, but also all areas of everyday life and almost all generations. This spirit of digital transformation can be clearly felt at the KIT Department of Informatics. In the seven institutes and more than 40 research groups, computer scientists work daily on the challenges posed by increasing digitization.
Dealing with ever larger amounts of data, the ever-increasing networking of all things, the increase in autonomous technical systems, or the increasing integration of computer science in critical systems are among the current problems with which the students and scientists of the faculty are concerned. In research, as well as in teaching, the technical and methodological challenges of realizing visions and the questions of responsible use of information technologies are therefore the focus of attention.

For this reason, the KIT Department of Informatics has four major subject areas: Data Science and Engineering,
Internet of Everything, Robotics & Cognitive Systems and Secure and Dependable Systems as focal points for further development. These topics are supported by the competencies in all computer science subjects represented at the KIT Department of Informatics.
These four main topics directly support the overarching KIT strategy. Thus, the KIT Deparment of Informatics can contribute its expertise in the fields of mobility, energy, and information mentioned therein. This strengthens the networking of competences not only within the department but also interdisciplinary within the KIT.

KIT-Fakultät für Informatik

Strategische Schwerpunkte der KIT-Fakultät für Informatik

Themen und Schwerpunkte

Bild vergrößern

Die Informatik beschäftigt sich mit der Beschreibung, Analyse, Konstruktion und dem Betrieb informationsverarbeitender Systeme. Und diese Systeme haben inzwischen nicht nur alle Branchen in Wirtschaft und Industrie, sondern auch alle Lebensbereiche des Alltags sowie nahezu alle Generationen durchdrungen. Dieser Geist der digitalen Transformation ist an der KIT-Fakultät für Informatik deutlich spürbar. In den sieben Instituten und mehr als 40 Forschungsgruppen arbeiten Informatikerinnen und Informatiker täglich an den Herausforderungen, welche die zunehmende Digitalisierung mit sich bringt.
Der Umgang mit immer größeren Datenmengen, die stets steigende Vernetzung aller Dinge, die Zunahme autonomer technischer Systeme oder steigende Einbindung von Informatik in kritischen Systemen gehören zu den aktuellen Problemstellungen, mit denen sich die Studierenden und die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Fakultät beschäftigen. In der Forschung, wie auch in der Lehre stehen daher die technischen und methodischen Herausforderungen der Realisierung von Visionen sowie die Fragen des verantwortungsvollen Umgangs mit Informationstechnologien im Mittelpunkt.

Aus diesem Grund hat die KIT-Fakultät für Informatik die vier großen Themenfelder Data Science and Engineering,
Internet of Everything, Robotics & Cognitive Systems und Secure and Dependable Systems als Schwerpunkte der weiteren Entwicklung benannt. Diese Themengebiete werden durch die Kompetenzen in allen an der KIT-Fakultät für Informatik vertretenen Fächer der Informatik getragen.
Diese vier Themenschwerpunkte unterstützen in direkter Weise die Dachstrategie des KIT. So kann die KIT-Fakultät für Informatik ihre Expertise in den darin genannten Bedarfsfeldern Mobilität, Energie und Information einbringen. Dies stärkt die Vernetzung der Kompetenzen nicht nur innerhalb der Fakultät, sondern auch interdisziplinär innerhalb des KIT.