KIT Department of Informatics

Staying young in old age with assistance robots

Most people want to remain independent and in their familiar surroundings for as long as possible in old age. This should be made possible by humanoid assistance robots, which relieve the strain of coping with everyday life, as well as attractable robots that support the wearer's movements. To make such futuristic robotic solutions suitable for everyday use, scientists at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) are conducting research. The Carl-Zeiss Foundation supports their research with 4.5 million euros.

In the project "JuBot - Staying Young with Robots: Versatile Assistance Robotics for Coping with Everyday Life", researchers are developing a new generation of the well-known humanoid ARMAR robots that are based at the KIT. These assistants are to perform everyday household tasks such as picking up and bringing objects, setting and clearing the table, loading the dishwasher, and communicating on different channels with relatives of the people they care for. On the other hand, the scientists want to research and develop attractable robots - also known as exoskeletons - which not only support the personal mobility of elderly people but also enable the targeted training of their motor and cognitive skills.


humanoider Roboter ARMAR 3
The humanoid ARMAR robots - here ARMAR-III - are designed to perform tasks in domestic or industrial environments. The next generation will support senior citizens in their everyday lives. (Photo: KIT)


Using robotics to meet demographic change

"It is one of the most urgent challenges of an aging society to maintain a self-determined life and a high quality of life for our fellow citizens who are in need of help," says Professor Holger Hanselka, President of KIT. "At the same time, we have to relieve nursing staff and take into account the shortage of skilled personnel in the nursing sector. Assistance robotics and technologies of artificial intelligence, as we are researching them at the KIT, are a key opportunity for this.

"Human-centered robotics is one of the future topics of the KIT. However, simply providing the technologies is not enough. When using assistance robots in shared human-robot habitats, we also have to consider aspects such as privacy protection, structural conditions, and social impacts," says Professor Oliver Kraft, Vice President for Research of the KIT. "This is why experts from robotics, artificial intelligence, human-machine interfaces, IT security, engineering and sports sciences, and architecture and technology assessment are working together at the KIT on a project like JuBot.



Exoskeletons can support the personal mobility of older people. (Photo: KIT)


robots learn from humans

"By interacting with humans, the JuBot robots should learn continuously and adapt to their individual needs and habits," says Professor Tamim Asfour from the Institute of Anthropomatics and Robotics of KIT and coordinator of the JuBot project. The ARMAR robots developed at KIT already perform complex tasks in a kitchen environment, learn from humans, and interact with humans using natural language. "We are pursuing a human-centered approach to address central questions of assistance robotics: versatility and personalization of the systems and their testing in real everyday environments," explains Asfour. To get there, the robots are first trained in a human-robot apartment at KIT and later tested in a senior citizens' center in Karlsruhe. "With the JuBot team, we not only want to advance the field of intelligent assistance robotics, but also contribute to a breakthrough in supporting a self-determined life of senior citizens".

In the "Breakthroughs" program, the Carl Zeiss Foundation is funding six interdisciplinary research projects in 2020. Research is conducted into intelligent solutions for an ageing society. The foundation supports the JuBots project at KIT with 4.5 million euros.

About the Carl-Zeiss Foundation

The Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung has set itself the goal of creating scope for scientific breakthroughs. As a partner of excellent science, it supports both basic research and application-oriented research and teaching in the MINT disciplines (mathematics, computer science, natural sciences and technology). Founded in 1889 by the physicist and mathematician Ernst Abbe, the Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung is one of the oldest and largest private science-promoting foundations in Germany. It is the sole owner of Carl Zeiss AG and SCHOTT AG. Its projects are financed from the dividend distributions of the two foundation companies.

Details on the KIT Center Information - Systems - Technologies: http://www.kcist.kit.edu

KIT-Fakultät für Informatik

Jung bleiben im Alter mit Assistenzrobotern

Im Alter möglichst lange selbstständig und in der gewohnten Umgebung bleiben – das wünschen sich die meisten Menschen. Dies sollen humanoide Assistenzroboter möglich machen, die bei der Bewältigung des Alltags entlasten, sowie anziehbare Roboter, die Bewegungen des Trägers unterstützen. Damit solche futuristischen Robotik-Lösungen alltagstauglich werden, forschen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Die Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung fördert ihre Forschung mit 4,5 Millionen Euro.

Im Projekt „JuBot – Jung bleiben mit Robotern: Vielseitige Assistenzrobotik für die Alltagsbewältigung“ entwickeln Forscherinnen und Forscher zum einen eine neue Generation der bekannten, am KIT beheimateten humanoiden ARMAR-Roboter. Diese Helfer sollen Alltagsaufgaben im Haushalt übernehmen, wie etwa Gegenstände holen und bringen, den Tisch decken und abräumen, die Geschirrspülmaschine beladen und auf verschiedenen Kanälen mit Angehörigen der Personen, die sie betreuen, kommunizieren. Zum anderen wollen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler anziehbare Roboter – auch Exoskelette genannt – erforschen und entwickeln, die nicht nur die persönliche Mobilität älterer Menschen unterstützen, sondern auch ein zielgerichtetes Training ihrer motorischen und kognitiven Fähigkeiten ermöglichen.

 

humanoider Roboter ARMAR 3
Die humanoiden ARMAR-Roboter – hier ARMAR-III – wurden entwickelt, um Tätigkeiten in Haushalt oder industriellen Umgebungen zu übernehmen. Die nächste Generation wird Senioren im Alltag unterstützen. (Foto: KIT)

 

Mit Robotik demographischem Wandel begegnen

„Es ist eine der drängendsten Herausforderungen der älter werdenden Gesellschaft, unseren Mitbürgerinnen und Mitbürgern, die hilfsbedürftig sind, ein selbstbestimmtes Leben und eine hohe Lebensqualität zu bewahren“, sagt Professor Holger Hanselka, der Präsident des KIT. „Gleichzeitig müssen wir Pflegepersonal entlasten und dem Fachkräftemangel im Pflegebereich Rechnung tragen. Assistenzrobotik und Technologien der künstlichen Intelligenz, wie wir sie am KIT erforschen, stellen dafür eine Schlüsselmöglichkeit dar.“

„Menschzentrierte Robotik ist eines der Zukunftsthemen des KIT. Allein die Technologien zur Verfügung zu stellen, genügt aber nicht. Wir müssen beim Einsatz von Assistenzrobotern in gemeinsamen Mensch-Roboter-Lebensräumen auch Aspekte wie den Schutz der Privatsphäre, bauliche Gegebenheiten sowie die gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen berücksichtigen“, sagt Professor Oliver Kraft, Vizepräsident für Forschung des KIT. „Deswegen arbeiten am KIT Experten aus Robotik, Künstliche Intelligenz, Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstellen, IT-Sicherheit, Ingenieur- und Sportwissenschaften sowie Architektur und Technikfolgenabschätzung gemeinsam an einem Projekt wie JuBot.“

 


Exoskelette können die persönliche Mobilität älterer Menschen unterstützen. (Foto: KIT)

 

Roboter lernen vom Menschen

„Durch Interaktion mit dem Menschen sollen die JuBot-Roboter fortlaufend lernen und sich an seine individuellen Bedürfnisse und Gewohnheiten anpassen“, sagt Professor Tamim Asfour vom Institut für Anthropomatik und Robotik des KIT und Koordinator des JuBot-Projekts. Die am KIT entwickelten ARMAR-Roboter führen bereits komplexe Aufgaben in einer Küchenumgebung aus, lernen vom Menschen und interagieren mit Menschen mit Hilfe von natürlicher Sprache. „Wir verfolgen einen menschzentrierten Ansatz, um zentrale Fragestellungen der Assistenzrobotik zu adressieren: Vielseitigkeit und Personalisierung der Systeme sowie deren Erprobung in realen Alltagsumgebungen“, erklärt Asfour. Um dahin zu kommen, werden die Roboter zunächst in einem Mensch-Roboter-Apartment am KIT trainiert und später in einem Karlsruher Seniorenzentrum erprobt. „Mit dem JuBot-Team wollen wir nicht nur das Gebiet der intelligenten Assistenzrobotik voranbringen, sondern auch einen Beitrag zu einem Durchbruch bei der Unterstützung eines selbstbestimmten Lebens von Seniorinnen und Senioren leisten.“   

Im Programm „Durchbrüche“ fördert die Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung 2020 sechs interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekte. Geforscht wird zu intelligenten Lösungen für eine älter werdende Gesellschaft. Das Projekt JuBots am KIT unterstützt die Stiftung mit 4,5 Millionen Euro.

Über die Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung

Die Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, Freiräume für wissenschaftliche Durchbrüche zu schaffen. Als Partner exzellenter Wissenschaft unterstützt sie sowohl Grundlagenforschung als auch anwendungsorientierte Forschung und Lehre in den MINT-Fachbereichen (Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaften und Technik). 1889 von dem Physiker und Mathematiker Ernst Abbe gegründet, ist die Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung eine der ältesten und größten privaten wissenschaftsfördernden Stiftungen in Deutschland. Sie ist alleinige Eigentümerin der Carl Zeiss AG und SCHOTT AG. Ihre Projekte werden aus den Dividendenausschüttungen der beiden Stiftungsunternehmen finanziert.

Details zum KIT-Zentrum Information · Systeme · Technologien (in englischer Sprache): http://www.kcist.kit.edu