KIT Department of Informatics

Start of studies in winter semester 2020/21

Dear first-year students,

Welcome to KIT! The Department of Informatics will offer as much classroom teaching as possible, especially for freshmen. After all, a university is not only a learning machine but also a social place where you can exchange ideas with fellow students, tutors, and lecturers.

Most of the tutorials will therefore take place as classroom tutorials, and the lecture "Grundbegriffe der Informatik" is open to 130 students per class. Unfortunately, more presence is not possible due to the current Corona hygiene regulations; so that, for example, the mathematics lectures can currently only be held online. We hope to gradually return to more and more classroom teaching next year. However, there will always be an online option for the entire teaching program.

We wish you a successful study!

Willkommen an der FakultätAndreas Drollinger / KIT

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Beckert (Dean), Prof. Dr. Gregor Snelting (Dean of Studies, Informatics), Prof. Dr. Martina Zitterbart (Dean of Studies, Information Systems) (from left to right)

Offers for the start of studies

All courses of the first semester are offered as hybrid courses: Part of the students can be on site, the rest take part in the course online. In any case, it will be possible to participate online for all courses. One of the basic building blocks of teaching in the first semester are the tutorials: Students of higher semesters repeat the material of the lecture and carry out practical exercises. For a good start in your studies, participation in these presence tutorials directly on campus is highly recommended, if possible.

KIT_Rucksack_ErstiesKIT

The orientation phase of the Maths/Computer Science Student Council takes place with many livestream offers. Students in higher semesters pass on their experiences here.

more
studienstart_pexels.com

Many valuable tips, information, and advisory services for a successful start of studies at the KIT Faculty of Informatics can be found at eezi goIN' Studienstart.

more
iss_buero_1200x800KIT

The ISS offers advice on studying and examinations and is the contact point for questions and problems during studies.

more
ipad-3522547_640pixabay

Suggestions for the design of the workplace, for the organisation of learning and tips for group work in times of distance rules help to bring a meaningful structure into the daily study routine.

more
erstsemester_kitcard_1200x800KIT

What should you definitely not miss as a freshman at KIT?
What should you consider and know for a good start to your studies?

more
Erstsemesterbegrüßung 2016Markus Breig / KIT

KIT welcomes its first-year students digitally on November 6, 2020, from 18:00 to 21:00. Look forward to an entertaining evening with topics related to studying at KIT, an interactive question and answer session, comedy with Marcel Mann, a digital information exhibition, and a Ersti quiz with great prizes.

more

KIT-Fakultät für Informatik

Studienstart im Wintersemester 2020/21

Liebe Studienanfängerinnen, liebe Studienanfänger,

herzlich willkommen am KIT! Die KIT-Fakultät für Informatik wird gerade für die Erstsemester möglichst viel Präsenzlehre anbieten. Denn eine Universität ist keine Lernmaschine, sondern ein sozialer Ort, an dem man sich mit Mitstudierenden und Lehrenden austauscht.

Die meisten Tutorien finden deshalb als Präsenztutorien statt, und die Vorlesung "Grundbegriffe der Informatik" ist immerhin für 130 Präsenzteilnehmende offen. Mehr geht leider nicht aufgrund der aktuellen Corona-Hygienevorschriften; so dass z.B. die Mathematik-Vorlesungen aktuell nur online stattfinden können. Wir hoffen, im nächsten Jahr allmählich zu immer mehr Präsenzlehre zurückkehren zu können. Es wird aber immer auch eine online-Option für das gesamte Lehrangebot geben.

Wir wünschen Ihnen ein erfolgreiches Studium!

Willkommen an der FakultätAndreas Drollinger / KIT

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Beckert (Dekan), Prof. Dr. Gregor Snelting (Studiendekan Informatik), Prof. Dr. Martina Zitterbart (Studiendekanin Wirtschaftsinformatik) (v.l.n.r.)

Angebote zum Studienstart

Alle Veranstaltungen des ersten Semesters werden hybrid angeboten: Ein Teil der Studierenden kann vor Ort sein, die Restlichen nehmen an der Veranstaltung online teil. Für alle Veranstaltungen wird auf jeden Fall die Möglichkeit bestehen, online teilzunehmen. Einer der Grundbausteine der Lehre im ersten Semester sind die Tutorien: Studierende höherer Semester wiederholen den Stoff der Vorlesung und führen praktische Übungen durch. Für einen guten Start im Studium ist eine Teilnahme an diesen Präsenz-Tutorien direkt auf dem Campus dringend zu empfehlen, sofern es Ihnen möglich ist.

O-PhaseKIT

Die Orientierungsphase der Fachschaft Mathe/Informatik findet mit vielen Livestream-Angeboten statt. Studierende höherer Semester geben hier ihre Erfahrungen weiter.

O-Phase
eezi goIn Studienstartpexels.com

Viele wertvolle Tipps, Infos und Beratungsangebote für einen erfolgreichen Studienbeginn an der KIT-Fakultät für Informatik sind bei eezi goIN' Studienstart zu finden.

eezi goIN' Studienstart
Informatik StudiengangserviceKIT

Der Informatik Studiengangservice (ISS) bietet Fachstudien- und Prüfungsberatung und ist die Anlaufstelle bei Fragen und Problemen im Studium.

Informatik Studiengangservice (ISS)
Home Officepixabay

Anregungen für die Gestaltung des Arbeitsplatzes, zur Lernorganisation und Tipps für Gruppenarbeit in Zeiten der Abstandsregeln helfen, eine sinnvolle Struktur in den Studienalltag zu bringen.

Lernen und Studieren im Homeoffice
KIT-CardKIT

Was sollte man auf jeden Fall als Erstsemester am KIT nicht verpassen?
Was sollte man für einen guten Start ins Studium beachten und wissen?

Studienstart am KIT
Erstsemesterbegrüßung 2016Markus Breig / KIT

Das KIT begrüßt seine Erstsemester digital am 6. November 2020 von 18:00 - 21:00 Uhr. Freuen Sie sich auf einen unterhaltsamen Abend mit Themen rund um das Studium am KIT, einer interaktiven Fragerunde, Comedy mit Marcel Mann, einer digitalen Informationsausstellung und einem Ersti-Quiz mit tollen Preisen. 

Erstemesterbegrüßung des KIT