KIT Department of Informatics

Alexandros Stamatakis is "highly cited" for the 5th time in a row

Alexandros Stamatakis is "highly cited" for the 5th time in a row

The publications on evolutionary biology of the professor of computer science, who conducts research at KIT and HITS, were again among the most frequently cited publications this year.

It is very important for researchers of all disciplines to mention their own work in other publications. The citation frequency is an important indication of the influence and reputation within the scientific community. Professor Alexandros Stamatakis, Professor of Computer Science for High Performance Computing in the Life Sciences at KIT and head of the CME research group at the Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies (HITS) is for the fifth time in a row among the "Highly Cited Researchers", a ranking led by the U.S. company Clarivate Analytics. It lists the 6,000 scientists whose publications were cited most frequently.


The bioinformatician, who has been working at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology since 2012, develops software for the analysis of large amounts of biological data. His research focuses on the development of scalable methods and software for the analysis of molecular data. Stamatakis' publications have thus had a lasting effect on evolutionary biology over the last few years. His research focuses on the development of software for calculating evolutionary family trees, the evaluation and use of new parallel computer architectures, the evolution of cancer cells and the statistical classification of intestinal bacteria. Within the framework of two international research projects, he decoded the family tree of birds as well as the family tree of insects. Finally, in summer 2020, a team led by Prof. Stamatakis drew attention to the problems associated with the pedigree analysis of SARS-CoV-2.


In addition to him, another seven researchers from the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology are represented in the currently published list of "Highly Cited Researchers". The methodology that determines the "Who is Who" of the world's influential researchers is based on bibliometric data and analyses carried out by the "Web of Science" group of the Institute for Scientific Information. A publication is only considered "Highly Cited" if it is among the top 1% of total citations in its subject area and year of publication.

KIT-Fakultät für Informatik

Alexandros Stamatakis gehört zum 5. Mal in Folge zu den meist zitierten Forschenden

Alexandros Stamatakis gehört zum 5. Mal in Folge zu den meist zitierten Forschenden

Die Publikationen zur Evolutionsbiologie des Informatikprofessors, der am KIT und am HITS forscht, wurden auch in diesem Jahr mit am häufigsten zitiert.

Für Wissenschaftstreibende aller Fachrichtungen ist die Nennung des eigenen Werks in anderen Publikationen sehr bedeutsam. Die Zitierhäufigkeit ist ein wichtiges Indiz für den Einfluss und das Renommee innerhalb der wissenschaftlichen Community. Professor Alexandros Stamatakis, Informatikprofessor für High Performance Computing in den Lebenswissenschaften am KIT und Leiter der CME-Forschungsgruppe am Heidelberger Institut für Theoretische Studien (HITS) ist bereits zum fünften Mal in Folge unter den "Highly Cited Researchers", einer vom US-Unternehmen Clarivate Analytics geführten Rangliste. Sie listet die 6.000 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler auf, deren Publikationen am häufigsten zitiert wurden.

 

Der Bioinformatiker, der seit 2012 am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie tätig ist, entwickelt Software zur Analyse großer biologischer Datenmengen. Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt ist die Entwicklung skalierbarer Methoden und Software zur Analyse molekularer Daten. Stamatakis´ Publikationen beeinflussten damit die Evolutionsbiologie der letzten Jahre nachhaltig. Im Zentrum stehen dabei die Entwicklung von Software zur Berechnung evolutionärer Stammbäume, die Evaluierung und der Einsatz neuer paralleler Rechnerarchitekturen, die Evolution von Krebszellen und die statistische Klassifikation von Darmbakterien. Im Rahmen zweier internationaler Forschungsprojekte entschlüsselte er den Stammbaum der Vögel sowie den Stammbaum der Insekten. Zuletzt machte ein Team um Prof. Stamatakis im Sommer 2020 auf die Probleme bei der Stammbaumanalyse von SARS-CoV-2 aufmerksam.

 

Neben ihm sind weitere sieben Forscherinnen und Forscher des Karlsruher Institut für Technologie in der aktuell veröffentlichten Liste der „Highly Cited Researchers“ vertreten. Die Methodik, die das "Who is Who" der weltweit einflussreichen Forscherinnen und Forscher bestimmt, stützt sich auf bibliometrische Daten und Analysen, die von der Gruppe "Web of Science" des Institute for Scientific Information durchgeführt werden. Eine Publikation gilt erst dann als „Highly Cited“, wenn sie in ihrem Fachgebiet und ihrem Erscheinungsjahr zu den Top 1% der Gesamtzitationen zählt.