KIT Department of Informatics

AI: Keeping the focus on the human being

AI: Keeping the focus on the human being

Research group around Prof. Alexander Mädche coordinates the joint project MeKIDI for the digitalization of processes in the energy industry

Valuable support or job killer? Artificial intelligence (AI) promises higher efficiency in business processes, but it also changes the environment of employees. The new joint project MeKIDI, coordinated by the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), is investigating how AI technologies can be profitably used for digitization in the energy industry and how the human being remains the focus of attention. The aim is to create a good balance between technical possibilities, corporate goals, and the interests of the individual.


Energy system transformation, declining revenues, increasing competitive pressure: the energy industry is facing major challenges. Companies in the industry work in a complex process and system landscape. They still process many tasks manually. In the course of the digitalization of business processes, however, many companies are increasingly using artificial intelligence (AI) technologies for these tasks. Projects that, for example, use chat bots to record meter readings and process these inputs automatically via Robotic Process Automation (RPA) have already shown promising results. At the same time, the use of AI technologies is changing the organisation and above all the working environment of employees.


"Valuable support or job killer - the evaluation of AI technologies in the working world often falls on one of these two extremes. On the other hand, we want to enable a differentiated view", explains Professor Alexander Mädche, head of the research group Information Systems & Service Design and Dean of Studies for Business Informatics. The research group coordinates the joint project "Human-centric AI-based digitization in the energy industry", in short MeKIDI. In this project, scientists first investigate the actual effects of AI technologies on employees. Based on this, they develop methods for the use of AI technologies in process digitisation, with the focus on people. "We follow a socio-technical paradigm in order to create a good balance between technical possibilities, organisation, corporate goals and the interests of the individual," says Mädche.


Actors jointly shaping the digital working world

MeKIDI develops design principles according to which energy suppliers and their service providers can use AI technologies to improve business processes, reduce costs and simplify routine tasks, but at the same time to meet the interests of the employees and the common good. The project also deals with the practical implementation of human-centric AI-based process digitization approaches: In three complementary "experimental rooms", the project partners are investigating, for example, the automation of processes using robots (Robotic Process Automation), the cooperation between humans and chatbots, and the use of AI-based competence assistants that use virtual reality technologies. In MeKIDI, all actors, such as decision-makers, employees as well as social and operational partners, are continuously involved in the design of the digital working world.


MeKIDI started in October 2020 and is planned for two years. Besides the coordinating KIT, partners are hsag Heidelberger Services AG, Soluvia Energy Services GmbH, Stadtwerke Bretten GmbH, and World of VR GmbH. The Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs (BMAS) supports the project in the initiative "New Quality of Work" (INQA) in the new focus AI of "Learning and Experimental Spaces" with more than 730 000 Euros.


Further information:

Research Group Information Systems & Service Design: http://issd.iism.kit.edu
"Learning and experiment rooms" of the BMAS: https://www.experimentierraeume.de
New Quality of Work Initiative (INQA): https: //inqa.de

KIT-Fakultät für Informatik

KI: So bleibt der Mensch im Mittelpunkt

KI: So bleibt der Mensch im Mittelpunkt

Forschungsgruppe um Prof. Alexander Mädche koordiniert Verbundprojekt MeKIDI zur Digitalisierung von Prozessen in der Energiewirtschaft

Wertvolle Unterstützung oder Jobkiller? Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) verspricht höhere Effizienz in Geschäftsprozessen, verändert aber auch das Umfeld der Mitarbeitenden. Wie sich KI-Technologien gewinnbringend für die Digitalisierung in der Energiewirtschaft einsetzen lassen und wie zugleich der Mensch im Mittelpunkt bleibt, untersucht das am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) koordinierte neue Verbundprojekt MeKIDI. Ziel ist, eine gute Balance zwischen technischen Möglichkeiten, Unternehmenszielen und Interessen des Individuums zu schaffen.


Energiewende, sinkende Einnahmen, steigender Wettbewerbsdruck: Die Energiewirtschaft steht vor großen Herausforderungen. Unternehmen der Branche arbeiten in einer komplexen Prozess- und Systemlandschaft. Noch bearbeiten sie viele Aufgaben manuell. Im Zuge der Digitalisierung von Geschäftsprozessen setzen viele Unternehmen allerdings zunehmend Technologien der Künstlichen Intelligenz (KI) für diese Aufgaben ein. Projekte, die beispielsweise Chatbots für die Zählerstandserfassung nutzen und diese Eingaben über Robotic Process Automation (RPA) automatisiert weiterverarbeiten, haben bereits vielversprechende Ergebnisse gezeigt. Gleichzeitig verändert der Einsatz von KI-Technologien die Organisation und vor allem das Arbeitsumfeld der Mitarbeitenden.


„Wertvolle Unterstützung oder Jobkiller – die Bewertung von KI-Technologien in der Arbeitswelt fällt oft auf eines dieser beiden Extreme. Wir wollen hingegen eine differenzierte Betrachtung ermöglichen“, erklärt Professor Alexander Mädche, Leiter der Forschungsgruppe Information Systems & Service Design und Studiendekan für Wirtschaftsinformatik. Die Forschungsgruppe koordiniert das Verbundprojekt „Menschengerechte KI-basierte Digitalisierung in der Energiewirtschaft“, kurz MeKIDI. In dem Projekt untersuchen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler zunächst, welche Auswirkungen KI-Technologien tatsächlich auf Mitarbeitende haben. Darauf aufbauend entwickeln sie Methoden für den Einsatz von KI-Technologien in der Prozessdigitalisierung, bei denen der Mensch im Mittelpunkt steht. „Wir folgen einem sozio-technischen Paradigma, um eine gute Balance zwischen den technischen Möglichkeiten, der Organisation, den Unternehmenszielen und den Interessen des Individuums zu schaffen“, sagt Mädche.


Akteure gestalten die digitale Arbeitswelt gemeinsam

MeKIDI erarbeitet Gestaltungsprinzipien, nach denen Energieversorger und deren Dienstleister KI-Technologien nutzen können, um Geschäftsprozesse zu verbessern, Kosten zu reduzieren und Routineaufgaben zu vereinfachen, gleichzeitig aber auch, um den Interessen der Mitarbeitenden sowie dem Gemeinwohl gerecht zu werden. Das Projekt befasst sich auch mit der praktischen Verwirklichung menschengerechter KI-basierter Prozessdigitalisierungsansätze: In drei sich ergänzenden „Experimentierräumen“ untersuchen die Projektpartner beispielsweise die Automatisierung von Prozessen mithilfe von Robotern (Robotic Process Automation), die Zusammenarbeit von Mensch und Chatbot sowie den Einsatz KI-basierter Kompetenzassistenten, die Virtual Reality-Technologien verwenden. In MeKIDI sind alle Akteure, wie Entscheidungstragende, Mitarbeitende sowie Sozial- und Betriebspartner, kontinuierlich in die Gestaltung der digitalen Arbeitswelt eingebunden.


MeKIDI startete im Oktober 2020 und ist auf zwei Jahre angelegt. Partner sind neben dem koordinierenden KIT die hsag Heidelberger Services AG, die Soluvia Energy Services GmbH, die Stadtwerke Bretten GmbH und die World of VR GmbH. Das Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales (BMAS) fördert das Projekt in der Initiative „Neue Qualität der Arbeit“ (INQA) im neuen Schwerpunkt KI der „Lern- und Experimentierräume“ mit mehr als 730 000 Euro.

 

Weitere Informationen:

Forschungsgruppe Information Systems & Service Design: http://issd.iism.kit.edu
„Lern- und Experimentierräume“ des BMAS:  https://www.experimentierraeume.de
Initiative „Neue Qualität der Arbeit“ (INQA):  https://inqa.de