KIT Department of Informatics

Highest Honour for Mehdi Tahoori

Highest honour for Mehdi Tahoori

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) honors the scientist for his research on integrated circuits at the nanoscale.

Professor Mehdi Tahoori from the Institute of Computer Engineering (ITEC) of KIT was appointed Fellow by the International Engineering Association IEEE for his groundbreaking contributions in "contributions to resilient nanoscale integrated circuits" and thus awarded the highest membership status.

Tahoori and his team are working on solutions for the resilience of nanoscale integrated circuits. These are designed to provide computer systems with higher performance, a smaller form factor and better energy efficiency. However, the nanoscale effects also make the individual components less robust and less reliable. This poses a major challenge, since computer systems built with nanoscale technologies are found in all daily and critical aspects of life, such as in airplanes or cars. It is therefore necessary to ensure the resistance and robustness of integrated circuits at the nanoscale.

With more than 400 000 members in 160 countries, IEEE is a leading authority in a wide range of fields, from aerospace systems, computers and telecommunications to biomedical engineering, electrical energy and consumer electronics.

KIT-Fakultät für Informatik

Höchste Ehrung für Mehdi Tahoori

Höchste Ehrung für Mehdi Tahoori

Das Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) zeichnet den Wissenschaftler für seine Forschung zu integrierten Schaltkreisen im Nanobereich aus.

Professor Mehdi Tahoori vom Institut für Technische Informatik (ITEC) des KIT wurde von der Internationalen Ingenieursvereinigung IEEE für seine wegweisenden Beiträge in „contributions to resilient nanoscale integrated circuits“ zum Fellow ernannt und ihm somit der höchste Mitgliederstatus verliehen.

Tahoori und sein Team arbeiten an Lösungen zur Resilienz nanoskaliger integrierter Schaltkreise. Diese dienen dazu, Computersysteme mit einer höheren Leistung, einem kleineren Formfaktor und einer besseren Energieeffizienz auszustatten. Die nanoskaligen Effekte machen die einzelnen Bauelemente allerdings auch weniger robuster und weniger zuverlässig. Das stellt eine große Herausforderung dar, da mit nanoskaligen Technologien gebaute Computersysteme in allen täglichen und kritischen Aspekten des Lebens wie beispielsweise in Flugzeugen oder Autos vorkommen. Daher ist es notwendig, die Widerstandskraft und Robustheit von integrierten Schaltungen im Nanobereich sicherzustellen.

Mit mehr als 400 000 Mitgliedern in 160 Ländern ist der Verband IEEE eine führende Autorität auf den verschiedensten Gebieten, von Luft- und Raumfahrtsystemen, Computern und Telekommunikation über Biomedizintechnik bis hin zu elektrischer Energie und Unterhaltungselektronik.