KIT Department of Informatics

Awarded research with impact

Awarded research with impact

TECO alumni and employees receive 10 Year Impact Award for smartphone research

Ten years is a long time, considering the rapid technological development and the life cycles of new technical achievements. In 2010, for example, mobile phones with physical keys were still widespread and one of the top smartphone models advertised with a 1Ghz processor and a screen diagonal of 10 cm. Today, borderless displays with a diagonal of 15 cm and more are the measure of all things and many smartphones work with over 2Ghz - per processor core, mind you. It is therefore something very special that a development has such a lasting influence on technological progress that this influence is still felt a decade later. TECO researchers around Prof. Michael Beigl have succeeded in doing so with their paper "ActiServ: Activity Recognition Service for Mobile Phones". For this they received the 10 Year Impact Award at the leading wearable conference, the International Symposium on Wearable Computing (ISWC) 2020.

The paper is about an open source system for mobile devices that can identify and distinguish context and activities of the user with high accuracy. The approach is based on a recognition architecture that classifies activities on the basis of fuzzy inference mechanisms - mechanisms for logical inference from fuzzy sets. The system trained with the help of large amounts of data from other users, but - and this was revolutionary - cooperatively partly directly on the end device itself, and partly on a server - this is now known as Edge-Cloud-Machine Learning. In order not to have to constantly recalculate the distributed AI models completely, they used a previously novel approach that allowed the addition of new model parts and the forgetting of old ones, today known as continous learning.

With their system, lead author Martin Berchtold and his co-authors Matthias Budde, Dawud Gordon, Hedda R. Schmidtke, and Michael Beigl have laid the foundation for today's wearables and apps for tracking movement and activities available on the market and deservedly received this year's 10 Year Impact Award of the Top Conference for Wearable Computing.
In his laudatory speech, Prof. Kai Kunze from Keio University (JPN) emphasized that the paper was ahead in both selection criteria for the award - either the highest number of citations or the greatest impact on science and industry.

TECO at KIT has been researching since 1993 with a number of partners from research and industry on topics such as ubiquitous computing, mobile computing, HCI, sensor/actuator networks (especially CPS), big data analytics, and context-sensitive AI systems.
To cover research-related teaching, TECO is linked to the Chair for Pervasive Computing Systems within the Institute of Telematics at the KIT Faculty of Informatics.
Together with other partners, TECO/KIT operate the Smart Data Innovation Lab (SDIL) of the Federation and Baden-Württemberg's Smart Data Solution Center (SDSC).

KIT-Fakultät für Informatik

Ausgezeichnete Forschung mit Bestand

Ausgezeichnete Forschung mit Bestand

Alumni und Mitarbeitende des TECO erhalten 10 Year Impact Award für Smartphone-Forschung

Zehn Jahre sind eine lange Zeit, betrachtet man die rasante technologische Entwicklung und die Lebenszyklen neuer technischer Errungenschaften. 2010 waren beispielsweise Handys mit physischen Tasten noch weit verbreitet und eines der Smartphone-Spitzenmodelle warb mit einem Prozessor mit 1Ghz und einer Bildschirmdiagonale von 10 cm. Heute sind randlose Displays mit 15 cm und mehr Diagonale das Maß aller Dinge und viele Smartphones arbeiten mit über 2Ghz – pro Prozessor-Kern wohlgemerkt. Es ist also durchaus etwas Besonderes, dass eine Entwicklung den technologischen Fortschritt so nachhaltig beeinflusst, dass dieser Einfluss auch eine Dekade später noch nachwirkt. Forschenden des TECO um Prof. Michael Beigl ist das mit ihrem Paper „ActiServ: Activity Recognition Service for Mobile Phones“ gelungen. Dafür erhielten sie auf der führenden Wearable-Konferenz, dem International Symposium on Wearable Computing (ISWC) 2020, den 10 Year Impact Award.

Im Paper geht es um ein Open-Source-System für Mobilgeräte, das Kontext und Aktivitäten des Benutzenden mit einer hohen Genauigkeit erkennen und unterscheiden kann. Der Ansatz fußt auf einer Erkennungsarchitektur, die auf Basis von Fuzzy-Inferenzmechanismen – also Mechanismen zum logischen Schließen aus unscharfen Mengen – Tätigkeiten klassifiziert. Trainiert hat das System mithilfe großer Datenmengen anderer Benutzerinnen und Benutzer, aber -und das war revolutionär- kooperativ teilweise direkt auf dem Endgerät selbst, als auch auf einem Server – dies heute bekannt unter dem Begriff Edge-Cloud-Machine Learning. Um die verteilten KI-Modelle nicht ständig komplett neu berechnen zu müssen, verwendeten sie einen vormals neuartigen Ansatz, der das Hinzufügen neuer und das Vergessen alter Modellteile ermöglichte, heute unter dem Namen continous learning bekannt.  

Mit ihrem System haben Hauptautor Martin Berchtold und seine Co-Autoren Matthias Budde, Dawud Gordon, Hedda R. Schmidtke und Michael Beigl 2010 eine Grundlage für heutige am Markt erhältliche Wearables und Apps zum Tracking von Bewegung und Aktivitäten gelegt und dafür verdient den diesjährigen 10 Year Impact Award der Top-Konferenz für Wearable Computing verliehen bekommen.
In seiner Laudatio betonte Prof. Kai Kunze von der Keio University (JPN), dass das Paper in beiden Auswahlkriterien für den Preis  – nämlich entweder die höchste Anzahl an Zitationen oder den größten Einfluss auf Wissenschaft und Industrie – vorne lag.  

Das TECO am KIT forscht seit 1993  mit einer Reihe von Partnern aus Forschung und Industrie zu Themen wie Ubiquitous Computing, Mobile Computing, HCI, Sensor/Aktor-Netzwerke (insbesondere CPS), Big Data Analytics und kontextsensitive KI-Systeme.
Für die Abdeckung der forschungsnahen Lehre ist das TECO verbunden mit dem Lehrstuhl für Pervasive Computing Systems innerhalb des Instituts für Telematik an der KIT-Fakultät für Informatik.
Gemeinsam mit weiteren Partnern betreibt das TECO/KIT das Smart Data Innovation Lab (SDIL) des Bunds sowie Baden-Württembergs Smart Data Solution Center (SDSC).