KIT Department of Informatics

Two Best Paper Awards for the KIT Research Group Practical IT Security (PS)

Two Best Paper Awards for the KIT Research Group Practical IT Security

At the PIMRC 2020 and SRDS 2020, Thorsten Strufe and his research colleagues received the Best Paper Award twice.
Prof. dr. Strufe

BEST PAPER AWARD / PIMRC 2020

This year's winners of the Best Paper Award at the PIMRC 2020 were the authors Paul Walther and Thorsten Strufe. For their paper "Blind Twins: Siamese Networks for Non Interactive Information Reconciliation" the former PhD student and his PhD supervisor received the Best Paper Award at this year's London IEEE Annual Symposium 2020 on "Personal, Indoor and Mobile Radio Communications" (IEEE PIMRC 2020). 

In their paper, both demonstrate that a key exchange with Physical Layer Security does not necessarily require an energy-consuming and insecure synchronization phase, and that two parties, informed by machine-learning models, can directly infer the state of the other party. Thus, energy resources are gained and additionally, potential attackers are prevented from obtaining information about the secret key material.

Link to the paper: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/stamp/stamp.jsp?arnumber=9217278 


BEST PAPER AWARD / RUNNER-UP AWARD OF THE SRDS 2020

Martin Byrenheid and Stefanie Roos from the same research group around Thorsten Strufe also went home with a prize at SRDS 2020. For their paper "Secure Embedding of Rooted Spanning Trees for Scalable Routing in Topology-Restricted Networks" they received the Best Paper Runner-Up Award. 

In order to protect the privacy of the participants and to make attacks more difficult, only those nodes in friend-to-friend networks communicate directly with each other whose operators have previously exchanged contact information. In order to be able to provide pseudonymized information to unknown participants, a distributed algorithm for the delivery of messages across several nodes is required. Due to its efficiency, route finding based on span trees is considered a promising approach for message delivery, which is also suitable for large, dynamic networks.
In their paper, they present several attacks on current solutions by which malicious participants can severely affect message delivery. Furthermore, they present their own pedigree based method, which is more robust against the presented attacks and thus makes active censorship more difficult.

Link to the paper: https://dud.inf.tu-dresden.de/byrenheid/byrenheid_srds2020.pdf 


The research group Practical IT Security deals with all aspects of technical data protection and network and IT security. The focus is on the development and analysis of security concepts against potential attackers on such systems. In addition, it is also interested in promoting the development of technologies that promote data protection in order to preserve the good of privacy in the digital world. Finally, they develop protocols and algorithms to secure the underlying communication and computing infrastructures.


The London IEEE Annual Symposium is one of the two major conferences of the IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc) in the field of wireless communication and networking. Today, it is internationally regarded as one of the most important annual milestones in the industry and brings together industry and science alike.


The 39th International Symposium on Reliable Distributed Systems (SRDS 2020) is an international forum for the presentation and exchange of technological advances and research results in the areas of design, development and evaluation of distributed systems and brings together leading researchers, engineers and scientists in the field from around the world.

KIT-Fakultät für Informatik

Gleich zwei Best Paper Awards für die KIT-Forschungsgruppe Praktische IT-Sicherheit (PS)

Gleich zwei Best Paper Awards für die KIT-Forschungsgruppe Praktische IT-Sicherheit (PS)

Im Rahmen der PIMRC 2020 und der SRDS 2020 wurden Thorsten Strufe und seine Forschungskolleginnen und Kollegen gleich zweimal mit dem Best Paper Award ausgezeichnet.
Prof. dr. Strufe

BEST PAPER AWARD / PIMRC 2020


Diesjähriger Gewinner des Best Paper Award beim PIMRC 2020 wurden die Autoren Paul Walther und Thorsten Strufe. Für ihr Paper “Blind Twins: Siamese Networks for Non Interactive Information Reconciliation” erhielten der ehemalige Doktorand und sein Doktorvater beim diesjährigen Londoner IEEE-Jahressymposium 2020 über „Personal, Indoor and Mobile Radio Communications“ (IEEE PIMRC 2020) den Best Paper Award. 

In ihrem Paper demonstrieren beide, dass bei einem Schlüsselaustausch mit Physical Layer Security eine energieverbrauchende und unsichere Synchronisationsphase nicht zwangsläufig notwendig ist und zwei Parteien informiert durch Machine-Learning-Modelle direkt auf den Zustand des Gegenübers schließen können. Damit werden Energieressourcen gewonnen und zusätzlich verhindert, dass potentielle Angreifer Informationen über das geheime Schlüsselmaterial erhalten.

Link zum Paper: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/stamp/stamp.jsp?arnumber=9217278 

 

BEST PAPER AWARD / RUNNER-UP AWARD DES SRDS 2020

Auch Martin Byrenheid und Stefanie Roos aus der gleichen Forschungsgruppe um Thorsten Strufe gingen mit einem Preis bei der SRDS 2020 nach Hause. Für ihr Paper „Secure Embedding of Rooted Spanning Trees for Scalable Routing in Topology-Restricted Networks“ wurden sie mit dem Best Paper Runner-Up Award ausgezeichnet. 

Um die Privatsphäre der Teilnehmer zu schützen als auch Angriffe zu erschweren, kommunizieren in Friend-to-Friend-Netzwerken nur die Knoten direkt miteinander, deren Betreiber vorher Kontakt-informationen ausgetauscht haben. Um beispielsweise regimekritische Informationen auch unbekannten Teilnehmern pseudonymisiert bereitstellen zu können, ist daher ein verteilter Algorithmus zum Zustellen von Nachrichten über mehrere Knoten hinweg erforderlich. Aufgrund seiner Effizienz gilt die Wegfindung auf Basis von Spannbäumen als vielversprechender Ansatz zur Nachrichtenzustellung, welche auch für große, dynamische Netzwerke geeignet ist.

In ihrem Paper stellen sie mehrere Angriffe auf aktuelle Lösungen vor, durch welche bösartige Teilnehmer die Zustellung von Nachrichten stark beeinträchtigen können. Des Weiteren stellen sie ein eigenes stammbaum-basiertes Verfahren vor, welches eine höhere Robustheit gegenüber den vorgestellten Angriffen aufweist und so unter anderem aktive Zensur erschwert.

Link zum Paper: https://dud.inf.tu-dresden.de/byrenheid/byrenheid_srds2020.pdf 

 

Die Forschungsgruppe Praktische IT-Sicherheit beschäftigt sich mit allen Aspekten des technischen Datenschutzes und der Netzwerk- und IT-Sicherheit. Im Fokus stehen dabei die Entwicklung und Analyse von Sicherheitskonzepten gegen potentielle Angreifer auf solche Systeme. Außerdem besteht ihr Interesse darin, sich auch für die Entwicklung datenschutzfördernder Technologien einzusetzen, um auch in der digitalen Welt das Gut der Privatsphäre zu wahren. Schließlich entwickeln sie Protokolle und Algorithmen um die unterliegenden Infrastrukturen zur Kommunikation und Berechnung abzusichern.

Das Londoner IEEE-Jahressymposium ist eine der beiden großen Konferenzen der IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc) auf dem Gebiet der drahtlosen Kommunikation und Vernetzung. Sie gilt heute international als einer der wichtigsten jährlichen Meilensteine der Branche und bringt Industrie und Wissenschaft gleichermaßen zusammen.

Das 39. Internationale Symposium über zuverlässige verteilte Systeme (SRDS 2020) ist ein internationales Forum für die Präsentation und den Austausch von technologischen Fortschritten und Forschungsergebnissen in den Bereichen des Entwurfs, der Entwicklung und Evaluierung verteilter Systeme und bringt führende Forscher, Ingenieure und Wissenschaftler auf dem Gebiet aus der ganzen Welt zusammen.